scottcjordan
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 11:12 pm

How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:26 pm

Is it necessary to create a whole new SD card or is there some update script that will make my existing Pi (running the original Debian Squeeze version) to the latest, hardware-floating-point-enabled Wheezy?

User avatar
joan
Posts: 14074
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: UK

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:37 pm

Not sure if wheezy has hardware floating point support for the Pi.

To upgrade from squeeze to wheezy.

Edit /etc/apt/sources.list and change references from squeeze to wheezy.

Issue the following commands

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade


and optionally

sudo apt-get autoremove

payturr
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:46 pm

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:12 pm

Don't do that. Wheezy doesn't have the proper optimizations for the Raspberry Pi. No one is putting a gun to your back to update, but if you want that processor support, you must flash a new image of Raspbian onto your card, sorry mate. :/

scottcjordan
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 11:12 pm

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:35 pm

Wheezy doesn't have the proper optimizations for the Raspberry Pi.
Huh?

From http://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads

"Raspbian “wheezy”

...If you’re just starting out, this is the image we recommend you use...."

?? Truly, I'm confused.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 23065
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:59 pm

I think the point is that you cannot upgrade from Squeeze to Raspbian Wheezy, whatever sneaks you try with the sources.

You really do need to re-image the card.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
"My grief counseller just died, luckily, he was so good, I didn't care."


User avatar
joan
Posts: 14074
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: UK

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Wed Jul 18, 2012 9:15 pm

scottcjordan wrote:
Wheezy doesn't have the proper optimizations for the Raspberry Pi.
Huh?

From http://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads

"Raspbian “wheezy”

...If you’re just starting out, this is the image we recommend you use...."

?? Truly, I'm confused.
It might be best to think of Debian wheezy as completely separate to Raspbian wheezy. I guess raspbian wheezy has been modified from Debian wheezy. Perhaps raspbian should not use the term wheezy so as to avoid confusion.

User avatar
AndrewS
Posts: 3625
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact: Website

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:07 am

Raspbian is still Wheezy, just for a different hardware ABI. But yeah, the name overlaps can be a bit confusing.

The Debian squeeze image recommended previously targets armel (ARMv4+ and softfloat).
The previous Debian wheezy beta image also targeted armel (so you theoretically can upgrade from sqeeze armel to wheezy armel by editing the sources.list as mentioned above).
The currently recommended Rasbian wheezy image targets armhf (ARMv6+ and hardfloat (VFP2)) - this is the one you can't auto-upgrade to, because armel is incompatible with armhf.

And if you're not confused enough already ;) there's also an official version of Debian wheezy armhf, but that targets ARMv7+ and hardfloat (VFP3) so won't run on the Pi's CPU.
Last edited by AndrewS on Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 12010
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
Location: South Holland, The Netherlands

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:11 am

Best advice I can give:
when in doubt, reflash!
:mrgreen:

peteralieber
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 11:02 pm

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Thu Jul 19, 2012 11:04 pm

I tried to re-image the SD card, but got the error:

Not enough space on disk: Size: 3788800 sectors Available: 153600 sectors Sector size: 512

I would assume that win32diskimager would destroy the old version. Why would there not be enough room?

User avatar
mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 12010
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
Location: South Holland, The Netherlands

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Thu Jul 19, 2012 11:13 pm

perhaps it encountered a partition it didn't recognize, and couldn't remove.
You could boot a Live linux distro (CD/DVD) and use the program "gparted" on it.
There are also some specialised programs to clear such misbehaving cards, I have also heard that people have formatted cards using a camera with success.

User avatar
nommo
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:17 am
Location: UK

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:18 pm

I too installed the Debian Squeeze armel SD image linked to from the RaspberryPi.org downloads page a couple of months or so back... I can't find any trace of it now though!

I have all kinds of stuff set up on it - I remember I needed to compile a few packages like get_iplayer or was it ffmpeg? Certainly omxplayer... would I really need to start from scratch if I wanted to switch to the Raspbian Wheezy route?

Or perhaps I should put it another way - does anyone know what would be the benefits of ARMv6+ and hardfloat (VFP2) over sticking with ARMv4+ and softfloat?

Bearing in mind I have a separate SD card for RASBMC (and I'm planning to buy another RasPi to dedicate to this or some other XMBC).

Thanks
Paul
I ate all the Pi

Nr90
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 12:39 pm

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Mon Aug 13, 2012 3:09 pm

Your compiled packages are incompatible with Raspbian.
However raspbian comes with OMXplayer so that saves you some compiling.

My personal advice would be to update ASAP.
Raspbian works much faster and with more hardware and as it has pretty much replaced Squeeze you will have to move at some point anyway.

User avatar
joan
Posts: 14074
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: UK

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:10 pm

nommo wrote:...
Or perhaps I should put it another way - does anyone know what would be the benefits of ARMv6+ and hardfloat (VFP2) over sticking with ARMv4+ and softfloat?
...
I'd like to know the answer to that.

I've found no reason not to be using Debian wheezy and all my other PCs are running Debian wheezy.

itimpi
Posts: 1084
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:44 am
Location: Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contact: Website

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:13 pm

joan wrote: I'd like to know the answer to that.

I've found no reason not to be using Debian wheezy and all my other PCs are running Debian wheezy.
The Raspbian release is faster. Note that it is still Debian Wheezy - it is just that it is compiled to support hardware floating point. There is also the issue that this looks like being the best supported release going forward so it is the one most likely to get fixes applied.

User avatar
joan
Posts: 14074
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: UK

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:24 pm

itimpi wrote:
joan wrote: I'd like to know the answer to that.

I've found no reason not to be using Debian wheezy and all my other PCs are running Debian wheezy.
The Raspbian release is faster. Note that it is still Debian Wheezy - it is just that it is compiled to support hardware floating point. There is also the issue that this looks like being the best supported release going forward so it is the one most likely to get fixes applied.
I wish Raspbian wouldn't use wheezy as the release name. Don't other distributions based on Debian use their own names.

Faster in what way? I'd expect floating point calculations to be faster but that is of zero benefit to my usage.

itimpi
Posts: 1084
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:44 am
Location: Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contact: Website

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:34 pm

joan wrote:I wish Raspbian wouldn't use wheezy as the release name. Don't other distributions based on Debian use their own names.
Why not - it is Debian "Wheezy" built to use hardware fp? If anything it is the 'Raspbian' bit that is doubtful - but it does help to heep the hardfp and softfp builds of Debian Wheezy for the Raspberry Pi separated.
Faster in what way? I'd expect floating point calculations to be faster but that is of zero benefit to my usage.
OK - but one never knows if any programs are trying to user floating point internally.

User avatar
joan
Posts: 14074
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: UK

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:48 pm

We have different views on the use of the word wheezy. I think it wrong for raspbian to use the word, others have no problem. C'est la vie.

User avatar
nommo
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:17 am
Location: UK

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Sat Sep 01, 2012 2:56 pm

Nyah - I just got back from my hols and did an rpi-update and got this:

[email protected]:~$ sudo rpi-update
Raspberry Pi firmware updater by Hexxeh, enhanced by AndrewS
Performing self-update
Autodetecting memory split
Using ARM/GPU memory split of 192MB/64MB
Updating firmware (this will take a few minutes)
Checking out files: 100% (2090/2090), done.
/usr/bin/rpi-update: line 67: 14130 Segmentation fault cp -R "${FW_REPOLOCAL}/modules/"* "${FW_MODPATH}/"
It won't boot now, so perhaps this is the time to start again on Raspian...? :|
I ate all the Pi

CharliePL
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: PL

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Sun Sep 02, 2012 12:06 am

nommo wrote:It won't boot now, so perhaps this is the time to start again on Raspian...? :|
Not necessarily:
Try to copy boot content manually to your SD card (FAT partition):
https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware ... aster/boot

User avatar
nommo
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:17 am
Location: UK

Re: How to change from Squeeze to Wheezy?

Mon Sep 03, 2012 3:22 pm

CharliePL wrote: Not necessarily:
Try to copy boot content manually to your SD card (FAT partition):
https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware ... aster/boot
Cheers Charlie - that did work - my Squeeze install lives again! I didn't see your post until after I rebuilt everything on Raspbian though! :)
I ate all the Pi

Return to “General discussion”