Mai

UFO detector?

Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:45 pm

Recently, I saw a flying saucer and wanted to build a device to detect and film them.
I can appreciate your skepticism, but I am not here to argue the existence or non-existence of these crafts.
I ordered 3 RPI2 and a PI NOR and wanted to pick the forum to see if there are any open source software that has already been started. I could always re-invent the wheel and start from scratch and write an opencv program that detects motion and even tracks it while filming or take snap shots. or use a magnetometer and start filming as soon as it's triggered.
But, why do that if some one else has done something similar?
I am new to RPI, but have done many hardware and software designs using the PIC18 and hitech c cross-compiler.
First, I have to learn Linux again. Learned it in the early 90's but have forgotten most of it and it was at the beginning of Linux and I am sure, it has come a long way since then.
I have talked to a few farmers out of town (away from city lights), and found a few who've agreed to allow me access to their field to place and retrieve my devices.
It will be solar powered. I have the 20 watts solar panels and "D" NiMH batteries from robots projects of yesteryears and the batteries all still in excellent condition. Can build 3 with the stuff I have. So, why not?
Pointing me in the right direction would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
~Mai

W. H. Heydt

Re: UFO detector?

Thu Jun 18, 2015 5:56 pm

Sounds like you saw more of an "IFO", since you've identified it.

Heater

Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:35 pm

Mai,
Recently, I saw a flying saucer ...
Are you sure? If so it's no longer a UFO.

Perhaps you can tell us the properties of such a craft? Size, shape, colour, brightness, distance, speed and so on. That would make it much easier for us to advise as to how to detect them.