Page 1 of 2

Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:03 pm
by TheRobster
So far I have got running:
Starflight 2
Space Quest 3

Sound is a bit scratchy, but quite useable.
I would have done more, but every time I get something working I end up playing.

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:02 am
by Super-Nathan
Tie Fighter

Mechwarrior is downloading, will be tried later today

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:21 pm
by TheRobster
I had forgotten about Mechwarrior.
I gotta try that out.

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 5:31 pm
by grim2020
Super-Nathan wrote:Tie Fighter

Mechwarrior is downloading, will be tried later today
Did you get this to load?

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:15 pm
by Chuckaluphagus
I have a ton of old DOS games that I've purchased through GOG.com over the past few years. I hadn't even thought about running them on the Pi before. I'll give this a shot when I have a spare moment.

Are there any command-line frontends for Dosbox? I quite like using them in a GUI, but I'm spending a lot more time at the command line on the Pi. I'm envisioning something with an interface like aptitude, but just for use with Dosbox and a collection of games.

If this doesn't already exist, I'm going to have to learn how to program, aren't I?

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:23 pm
by MrBunsy
I've had Worms and Lemmings working happily in DOSBox before, can't remember if I tried them when I put it on the Pi. Will have to try them again!

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:34 pm
by chromebookbob
I got civilisation 1, elite, simcity & worms working.

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:05 pm
by rurwin
Chuckaluphagus wrote:Are there any command-line frontends for Dosbox? I quite like using them in a GUI, but I'm spending a lot more time at the command line on the Pi.
DosBox produces the screen image using SDL, which I think is only available under X. (Wikipedia teases that there is a framebuffer implementation, but the official SDL site doesn't appear to mention it.)

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:24 pm
by Mortimer
I've tried DosBOX and it runs fine from the command line. It runs straight away at full screen.

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:24 pm
by Chuckaluphagus
Mortimer wrote:I've tried DosBOX and it runs fine from the command line. It runs straight away at full screen.
Yeah, I know you don't need to have to be in X in order to use Dosbox.

Still need to find time to start testing games.

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:36 am
by AndrewS
Chuckaluphagus wrote:Are there any command-line frontends for Dosbox? I quite like using them in a GUI, but I'm spending a lot more time at the command line on the Pi. I'm envisioning something with an interface like aptitude, but just for use with Dosbox and a collection of games.

If this doesn't already exist, I'm going to have to learn how to program, aren't I?
You may find http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... =32&t=5191 a good starting point :)

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 3:13 am
by Super-Nathan
grim2020 wrote:
Super-Nathan wrote:Tie Fighter

Mechwarrior is downloading, will be tried later today
Did you get this to load?

not yet, no time

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:56 pm
by moztech
X-Wing

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:13 pm
by chris.bodley
I got a copy of doom to run and by run i mean lock up in the spash screen:-). any ideas on how to optimize it for this?

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:45 pm
by TheRobster
I did get mechwarior to run.

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:39 pm
by geezbeez
Speedball II (Brutal delux) - still somehow good

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:53 pm
by obarthelemy
In a less fun register, Word for Dos is free (gratis, not open), and is supposed to run well in spite of a few install error messages. Binary is here: http://download.microsoft.com/download/ ... 55_ben.exe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Wd8K2n5ayk

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:39 pm
by MrHarcombe
geezbeez wrote:Speedball II (Brutal delux) - still somehow good
Oh my - I loved that game! Shame I eBay'd my 3.5" copy...

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:26 am
by andyroyal
MrHarcombe wrote:
geezbeez wrote:Speedball II (Brutal delux) - still somehow good
Oh my - I loved that game! Shame I eBay'd my 3.5" copy...
I loved it too, and I think my 3.5" copy is somewhere in storage at my mum's place. If only I still had a 3.5" drive in my PC...

I got Sensible World of Soccer 95/96 "working", but it's unplayably slow. I'll have to see if I can tweak the settings a little, but i doubt that'll be enough. The DOSBox source is available, I wonder if I could do anything to improve its performance on the Raspberry Pi?

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:14 pm
by Redostrike
Anyone tried System shock yet? i thought system shock 2 was windows based not dos?


Old favorites would be:

Doom
X-COM: UFO Enemy Unknown
Jetpack
Epic Pinball
Commander Keen (all)
Cyberdogs
Skyroads
Death Rally
Ignition
Duke Nukem 1,2 (3D wasent bad but i liked 1 and 2 more)

Prolly forgot a few more great titles.

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:56 am
by Dalekmun2010
Redostrike wrote:Anyone tried System shock yet? i thought system shock 2 was windows based not dos?
I'll try System Shock as soon as I find my old disk, and yes, 2 was windows based.

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:10 am
by andyroyal
Speedball 2 : Brutal Deluxe - Works quite well. You need to emulate sound, the game won't start without it. Somewhat counter-intuitively reducing the "cycles" down from the default speeds the game up, I found a value of about 700 worked best. It sounds awful, but it does on my monster desktop PC too - I think that's just the DOS version for you. Anyone know a good Linux Amiga emulator?

XCOM Enemy Unknown - I got it to work very slowly once, but subsequently changed some settings and can't get it to work again.

In general stuff running in user mode is fine, but protected mode is a bit too much for the Raspberry Pi. The DOSBox wiki says:
Protected mode games are very resource-demanding. Although they will likely run on a 1 GHz machine, it is unlikely they will run quickly or smoothly.
The Raspberry Pi is roughly equivalent to a 300MHz Pentium 2, so it's going to have trouble with protected mode.

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:38 am
by 7F20
Warlords (the original game)

Tried wolfenstein 3D, it froze on the blue splash screen. I also tried with a mild overclock (900 on the CPU) and that didn't work either.
(Tried from both the console and from X.)

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:22 pm
by alexeames
Anyone tried Warcraft 2?

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:54 pm
by JRT
I got Ufo Enemy Unknown (XCOM) working. Predictably, it's pretty slow. However I feel if someone with more knowledge than me took on the job of optimising DOSBOX for the Pi, it could have some significant speed gains.