sniper695

will a rasperry pi work as a media center pc.

Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:28 pm

I have been researching the new rasberry pi setup, I am considering buying one to set up a home theater pc for my grandmother. It will need to be pretty simple to use, and basically run netflix and video files off a flash drive. is that something that is reasonable? I work in IT but only windows, Mac, Chrome OS. I had linux on my laptop about 10 yrs ago but I am not familiar with it. If the rasberry pi can do this what is the best version of linux to run? any links to tutorials that are applicable would be great.

DougieLawson

Re: will a rasperry pi work as a media center pc.

Mon Mar 02, 2015 3:36 pm

You can't run Netflix.

You can run an XBMC/Kodi media centre.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Criticising any questions is banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All fake doctors are on my foes list.

sniper695

Mon Mar 02, 2015 3:56 pm

what I have done for my house is just using a windows pc, I can watch video files, netflix etc.

Can a linux install on the rasberry do that? or would I need to go the media center software route?

Why will netflix not run?

DougieLawson

Mon Mar 02, 2015 4:59 pm

Netflix needs Chromium, Chromium is badly supported in much the same way that Adobe Flash is badly supported.

If you want Netflix look at a dedicated HDMI plug-in media centre dongle like a Chromecast rather than a Pi.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

ghans

Mon Mar 02, 2015 6:47 pm

Netflix doesn't need Chromium. Netflix needs Google Chrome.
Important difference.

ghans

EDIT : Wording
Last edited by ghans on Tue Mar 03, 2015 6:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.