Ja$on
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 5:52 pm

more ram?

Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:03 pm

I don't know if I'm in the right section but I'm going to post here. Mods correct me if I'm in the wrong place.

Can anyone tell me how I can run the raspberry pi with some extra laptop ram I have laying around? I have 2 gigs or so of extra ram and would like to know if I can use it with the raspberry pi.

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10578
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: more ram?

Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:06 pm

How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

scotty101
Posts: 4065
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:03 pm

Re: more ram?

Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:06 pm

You can't extend the Raspberry Pi's RAM.

(No not even if you have some laptop ram laying around)
Electronic and Computer Engineer
Pi Interests: Home Automation, IOT, Python and Tkinter

User avatar
Jessie
Posts: 1754
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: C/S CO USA

Re: more ram?

Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:08 pm

I guess it depends on what your definition of "use" is. If you have enough sticks of ram you could build a case for your Pi.

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10578
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: more ram?

Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:30 pm

Jessie wrote:I guess it depends on what your definition of "use" is. If you have enough sticks of ram you could build a case for your Pi.
oooh ... now there's an Idea....
I have stacks of 4GB that are broken ....
lets see if I can build a good looking case ,.,., ;)
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

Long_Term_Lurker
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:10 pm

Re: more ram?

Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:41 pm

Well, if it's DDR2 RAM then all you would need to do is.

1. Remove the POP package RAM from the top of the SOC. (good luck with that).
2. Design a POP breakout header board connected to a PCB with a SODIMM socket (the pinout might be documented somewhere but don't bet on it, PCB design for these sorts of frequencies is not for the amateur).
3. Re-write the bit of the binary blob that detects the attached RAM and configures the SOC appropriately (good luck with that).

Bear in mind that there are only enough address lines on the top of the SOC to address one gig of RAM.

So, in summary:

Impossible, probably not.
Totally impractical. Abso-freaking-lutely.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 27100
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: more ram?

Thu Nov 06, 2014 8:29 pm

Actually, no, I actually think it might be impossible with that sort of RAM stick. Or any sort of RAM stick, or any sort of RAM not specifically designed as PoP·

So locking. This topic has been done to death.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed.
I've been saying "Mucho" to my Spanish friend a lot more lately. It means a lot to him.

Return to “Off topic discussion”