abhishek007

Advice on humanoid

Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:05 pm

Hi everyone.......
I'm an enggineering student. I have done a lot of work in avr, pic, arm microcontrollers and have quiet good knowledge in c,c++,java,python.
I have a team of some students with me and we are planning to make a humanoid just like ASIMO of Honda company.
I want to know that Rassberry Pi would be good for this project or not.
I want advice on how to get started on this project.
Please give me your suggestions ,they are very valuable.
--------------------------------------------
Thank you for giving your precious time on my article :P

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Re: Advice on humanoid

Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:14 pm

Difficult to say. It would probably be useful in some ways, not in others. But without some idea of what it is needed to do, its very difficult to make any assessment. Buy one and see?
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed.
I've been saying "Mucho" to my Spanish friend a lot more lately. It means a lot to him.

Raspruss

Sat Mar 01, 2014 5:06 pm

The Raspberry Pi is a 700Mhz ARM processor with a GPU and quite a bit of memory with the ability to have electronic outputs and/or inputs from external "devices" - for most output purposes you for sure would need some buffering. Given that, what you need to do is (1) decide what your Asimo-clone is going to include then (2) decide what needs "intelligent" control then (3) compute the performance requirements for each of those things then (4) decide if the Pi meets that need.