Penetratore
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:33 pm

MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Wed Nov 14, 2012 3:16 pm

Hello

I was trying to find a board (ARM or else) with at least 1x SATA and 1x Gigabit LAN which would be not expensive and power consumming like RPI.

There are boards either with SATA and no GLAN, or with GLAN but no SATA, or x86 board with SATA and GLAN but with a big power consumption and very expensive.

Is there a PRI similar board with SATA and GLAN ??

dave j
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:19 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:58 pm

Have you seen the TonidoPlug2?

SATA, 1Gb LAN, also has WiFi - all in a box with a 2.5" enclosure.

Max

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:09 pm

Do you need video output?

If not, just buy a standard 1-bay NAS unit...
Synology's offerings run Linux, have gigabit, and allow the installation of your own software.

rvalles
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 3:51 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Thu Nov 15, 2012 3:29 pm

See the cubieboard:
http://www.indiegogo.com/cubieboard?a=1704773

CPU 3x as fast as Raspberry's, 1GB RAM, SATA. Only missing the GbE. $59.

Penetratore
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:41 am

TonidoPlug2 - to expensive - in this price a better solution would be a NAS
NAS - too expensive
cubieboard - 100Lan is not enought for playback of FullHD file to two computers and p2p client at the same time.

GLAN and at least 1 SATA is a MUST

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10454
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:01 am

How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

tufty
Posts: 1456
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:32 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:12 am

If purchase cost is an issue, then you're probably best off looking at a mini-itx + atom solution. Something like a d2500hn should do it for you. Obviously, it's 10w + peripherals as opposed to 2.5w, but it's a question of 'cheap, fits peripheral spec, low power, choose 2'

Simon

Penetratore
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am

I think you dont get my idea.

I looking for a MB like RPI .... same conecept = all in one + Single power supply 5V (cell phone charger)

somethin like this
Kontron KTT30/mITX
http://emea.kontron.com/products/boards ... 0mitx.html

but this is also expenisive but has also to may not needed features ..

The price goal I`m looking for is under 90-100$ (MB, RAM,CPU). HDD is another cost.

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10454
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:18 am

Penetratore wrote:I think you dont get my idea.

I looking for a MB like RPI .... same conecept = all in one + Single power supply 5V (cell phone charger)

somethin like this
Kontron KTT30/mITX
http://emea.kontron.com/products/boards ... 0mitx.html

but this is also expenisive but has also to may not needed features ..

The price goal I`m looking for is under 90-100$ (MB, RAM,CPU). HDD is another cost.
aha yes but you don't understand ...
there are no really cheap options available yet
not with SATA and 1GB
your looking at approx £100 or a bit less ....
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

Max

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:32 am

Penetratore wrote:all in one + Single power supply 5V (cell phone charger)
An average cell phone charger does not provide enough power for a hard disk.
My Intel SSD alone (without the board) already needs 1A @ 5V, and normal 3.5" desktop drives need 12V as well.

Penetratore
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:41 pm

Curieboard has SATA .. and it works

but never the less ... a fast mico SD or SD card will get 30MB/s in read mode ... so for steaming it would be OK.
Additionally a 3.5 inch 2TB drive in usb 2.0 Case... (has his own power supply)

So we are missing a GigaLAN board with at least 1000 Mhz procesor + Ram (min 512 MB) ... any idea ?

Max

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:00 pm

Penetratore wrote:Curieboard has SATA .. and it works
Did you try it with a standard phone charger?

Couldn't even connect one to my Cubie.
Power cable it comes with is full length USB. Can plug that into a powered USB hub, or an iPad charger.
But doesn't work with the standard type of phone charger that has a micro-usb plug fixed to it.

Penetratore
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:46 pm

I don`t have the Board .. I only saw It on youtube that it works..
cubieboard has the power plug of a Laptop charger..

This was an OFF TOP...

I`m still missing a MB with GLAN +SD/mSD card drive + laptop charger + 2x USB 2.0/3.0 :D

tufty
Posts: 1456
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:32 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:47 pm

Penetratore wrote:I think you dont get my idea.
I get your idea perfectly. So does everybody else. Here goes again.

1 - Low power consumption ARM motherboard
2 - Has gigabit LAN and SATA
3 - Is super cheap

Pick any 1 or 2 of the above, it's doable, today. If you want all 3, you're out of luck and wil have to compromise. As (2) appears to be fixed, and you're whining about (3), it's (1) that has to go, hence the suggestions that you look into relatively low consumption, small-form-factor intel based kit. It's not ixactly frickin' rocket science.

ghans
Posts: 7873
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:09 pm

Exactly what i wanted to say.


ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

Penetratore
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Mon Nov 19, 2012 8:45 am

I`m still not convinced
Let talk about the cubieboard as it is closes to fullfill the spec.

For 49$* we get a strong chip with SATA and 100 LAN.

Correct me if i`m wrong but the Ethernet on the board is driven by a seperate chip (realtec, atheos.. etc). (thats why there RPI A -no LAN- is cheaper the model B)
I`m not the expert for MB layout and components working together but I think there should be a way to make the board with GLAN chip.

The should not be a big difference between in price of LAN and GLAN chip? At least not e.g. 40$.

Max

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Mon Nov 19, 2012 8:55 am

Penetratore wrote:cubieboard has the power plug of a Laptop charger..
It has a round plug, and a cable with round connector on one end, and USB fullsize male on the other.

Correct me if i`m wrong but the Ethernet on the board is driven by a seperate chip (realtec, atheos.. etc)
Chip seems to be one of these: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PHY_(chip)
Think it only handles the signal side of things, and that the digital processing is in the SoC, and not easily replaced.

rvalles
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 3:51 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:39 pm

MAC is inside the SoC.
PHY is an external chip.

If the MAC doesn't support gigabit, you're out of luck. One option would be a usb gigabit ethernet (chinese sites probably sell very cheap ones). USB2 bw is some 540mbit/s. You could, say, use the slow built-in one for Internet and the other one for LAN.

poing
Posts: 1131
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Mon Nov 19, 2012 1:04 pm

I think the cheaper boards have a CPU that is not fast enough to make use of the full speed of GLAN anyway, so why bother about it?

Penetratore
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:02 pm

poing wrote:....so why bother about it?
For NAS usage its quite a lot:

a) USB2,0 + 10/100 = max 12 MB/s
b) USB2,0 + 10/100 /1000 = max 30 MB/s -- if it would be 24 MB/s then It would be possible in theory to steam at least two files to the LAN.

c) SATA + 10/100 /1000 = with good CPU... for now to expensive , but possible - Kontron KTT30/mITX

elatllat
Posts: 1337
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:05 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:49 pm

SBC with 32GB RAM: https://hardkernel.com

FAQ : https://raspberrypi.stackexchange.com

Unanswered: https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/search.php?search_id=unanswered

Penetratore
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:22 pm

Thanks for the link

I`m buing Intel D2500HN

For NAS usage I can not expect to get a better HW for 70$ with power consumption 10W in 100% load.
Power supply, RAM and HDD I allready have so no additional investment required.

Penetratore
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:43 pm

I was wandering ... the Intel motherboard D2500HN and DN2800MT where released Januar 2012 last year ...
I`m not familiar with the realease shedule of INTEL motherboard.
Is there a possiblity that there will be a new release of these board Januar/Februar 2013?

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3453
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Sun Dec 02, 2012 1:09 am

Penetratore wrote: Correct me if i`m wrong but the Ethernet on the board is driven by a seperate chip
Kinda.

An ethernet controller is logically seperated into two parts. The MAC (medium access controller) and the PHY (physical layer). It is almost unheard of to see a PHY on a "SoC" as they require different semiconductor processes to implement well. So there are two common patterns for Ethernet support. One pattern is to have the MAC on the SoC and then have a seperate PHY chip. The other pattern is to integrate the MAC with the PHY.

If the MAC is part of the SoC then clearly you are limited to the choices the SoC designer made. If the MAC is seperate from the SoC then you have to connect it to the SoC somehow. You could connect a gigabit controller over USB2 but you won't come anywhere near to maxing it out if you do.

So if you actually want gigabit speeds then you need a SoC which either has gigabit ethernet built in or has a fast interface to which you can connect a gigabit ethernet MAC without creating a bottleneck. Such SoCs do exist but they tend to be either expensive or have weak processor cores that make them unsuitable for much more than dumb NAS work.

A further big problem is that doing stuff in small volumes significantly increases the cost per unit both because any of your own fixed costs need to be spread among fewer units and because the people who actually build it for you charge a lot more per unit for small runs (to recoup THEIR fixed costs). The reason the raspberry Pi is so cheap is because of a combination of the engineers donating their time for free and the foundations backers sticking their necks out and funding an initial production run of TEN THOUSAND units out of essentially their own pockets.

caderoux
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: New Orleans

Re: MB with SATA and 1 GLAN - possible??

Sun Dec 02, 2012 1:33 am

Pogoplug 4 - GbE, SATA, 2xUSB3, 1xUSB, SD, ArchLinux headless.

Lists for $99, but regularly shows up on sale on Amazon for $40 (includes case and power supply). You would basically be losing the video and larger RAM in return for a more I/O-friendly device.

Pretty easy to install ArchLinux on them (http://archlinuxarm.org/), and my PP4s seemingly have a lot more reliable USB and Ethernet than my RPis.

I actually use my PP4s as SD-card reader/writers on my network and they hold my RPi images for easy re-imaging of SD cards.

Return to “Off topic discussion”