How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

Heater

Re: Things every hacker once knew

Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:20 am

Good old Eric.

Still working with ASCII and serial line connections everyday here. Usually devices connected over USB. Chip programming and so on.

All those ASCII control codes got absorbed into Unicode (As far as I can tell). So we can still enjoy them. Unicode though is a disaster.

DougieLawson

Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:02 am

It's interesting but a wide distance away from the IBM S/360 stuff I've been using for the last 35 years.

That's 32-bit fullwords, 2,4 or 6 byte instructions, hexadecimal (never octal), EBCDIC (not ASCII) and 3270 data streams. I've seen the move from 24-bit to 31-bit (the 32nd bit is used to mark whether we are 31 or 24 bit) and now to 64-bit (where the whole address block from 0x80000000 to 0xFFFFFFFF can't be used because of the 31/24 bit marker in the 32nd bit). Things have grown, things have got faster but you can take a S/360 program from 1967 and run it on the very latest zSeries Z13 processor without changing it.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

Heater

Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:10 am

All that IBM history is interesting. It's a parallel universe of computing that very few people have experience of. To this day I have never seen an IBM mainframe in the flesh, or any IBM machine except the really crappy early PC.

As Eric points out, he writes about "hacker" culture. That is to say all the small scale computing people were doing "out here" in the world rather than the secret professional world of IBM and the like.