10. COBOL

mathboy4life

Re: Things I never want to see on a Raspberry Pi

Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:46 am

Whats wrong with a blue led?

stderr

Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:06 am

mathboy4life wrote:Whats wrong with a blue led?
Reminds him too much of Kmart.

W. H. Heydt

Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:15 am

Douglas6 wrote: 10. COBOL

Code: Select all

pi@alrmclk2 ~ $ apt-cache search cobol
open-cobol - COBOL compiler
It's in the Jessie repositories.

Douglas6

Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:19 am

Deleted
Last edited by Douglas6 on Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Douglas6

Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:20 am

W. H. Heydt wrote:
Douglas6 wrote: 10. COBOL

pi@alrmclk2 ~ $ apt-cache search cobol
open-cobol - COBOL compiler
It's in the Jessie repositories.
Yeah, I know, and I was a COBOL programmer in the early eighties. On a Pi; it's just not right.

Goraxium

Mon Apr 18, 2016 5:58 am

Douglas6 wrote:1. A blue LED
2. Windows Desktop
3. Candy Crush Saga
4. Flash
5. Kitten videos
6 Thumbprint detection
7. Piezo speaker
8. 64 GB of RAM
9. FireWire
10. COBOL
1. Blue LEDs tend to draw more power. There would be no benefit in switching to them.

2. There's a push for this. Not entirely sure why. The only reason why I still use a windows computer is for a few select tasks (primarily ripping CDs, since I don't have an external drive). Otherwise it just gathers dust (especially since my phone does most of what I used my computer for in the past).

3. With the push by a select few to get Android running on the Pi, it'll happen eventually. It doesn't mean you have to play it.

4. Flash is dying... Slowly... It had a good run though...

5. What's wrong with kittens?

6. Thumbprint detection could be a cool little security system project, combined with an RFID reader, voice analysis and retinal scan...

7. There are little speakers in some project kits. I couldn't see one being added to a Pi unless it was for a specific project though.