piglet

Re: Where do you start?

Thu Nov 10, 2011 4:54 pm

Ok - so I'm an IT pro. Post-Graduate educated and an absolute whizz at writing application code to manipulate data. Most of my day is on a 'nix variant machine writing PERL, using vi, grep and all the other basic 'nix commands....

....but....

....I have absolutely no idea where to start to get enough information to do stuff on a linux machine like the raspi. No idea about how the guts of the thing will work and how to make anything for it. No idea how to attach hardware to it, access the GPIO...whatever that is....

I want to be able to wear sandals and maybe even install a propellor on my head some day.

Where do you start with understanding the hardware & linux to get knowledge like that? What's the pathway to complete understanding and the ability to "do stuff"?

I've looked around but have never found any place to start. I've only ever found "this is how you log in. This is the 'cd' command" starter tutorials or people discussing floopluxing the GHJD with GY834jf lib thingamyjig, giving me not one hint as to what the *cough* they were talking about...

Go on. I know many of you on this forum have sandals. How can I learn enough to earn some?

mengel

Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:52 pm

Get and read O' Reilly's "Linux in a Nutshell", read the Rpi wiki, set up your personal machine to dual boot Fedora and use it. (I say Fedora 'cause it will work on the 'pi)--mike

thesynapseuk

Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:01 pm

You might be able to learn alot from some of the distros that go along the kind of 'build your own' lines. I.e. they give you linux components and you build your own linux distro out of them. Given your background in Unix, you'd have a good base for that kind of thing I would have thought. Not too sure on names, but google a bit and I'm sure you'll come up with a few to try out.

willlim

Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:13 pm

One good guide for build your on distro is the LFS (Linux From Scratch)