Page 1 of 1

Ryanteck Robot using an Arduino?

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 9:00 am
by meddyliol
I have a Ryanteck Budget Robot designed for use with a Raspi. I was wondering how difficult it would be to drive it with an Arduino (Uno/Mega) instead. I have an Infrared Wireless Remote Control Kit For Arduino, (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/141228410126? ... EBIDX%3AIT) which I would like to control it. The trouble is, I have no idea of how to go about it. Any advice (constructive) would be appreciated.

Thanks

Brian

Re: Ryanteck Robot using an Arduino?

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 10:04 am
by BMS Doug
meddyliol wrote:I have a Ryanteck Budget Robot designed for use with a Raspi. I was wondering how difficult it would be to drive it with an Arduino (Uno/Mega) instead. I have an Infrared Wireless Remote Control Kit For Arduino, (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/141228410126? ... EBIDX%3AIT) which I would like to control it. The trouble is, I have no idea of how to go about it. Any advice (constructive) would be appreciated.

Thanks

Brian
Yes you can do this, You'll need to connect the Arduino to the RTK motor controller board.
Follow the RTK assembly guide but don't solder on the 26 pin header, instead solder connections between the header connections and the arduino.

Re: Ryanteck Robot using an Arduino?

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 10:07 am
by meddyliol
Thanks for that. Will have a go.

Cheers

Brian :)

Re: Ryanteck Robot using an Arduino?

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 10:19 am
by BMS Doug
meddyliol wrote:Thanks for that. Will have a go.

Cheers

Brian :)

Look at a GPIO pinout while you are working on it, to figure out the +5V and Gnd connections. All the rest of the connections will be inputs or enables for the motor driver chip.

Re: Ryanteck Robot using an Arduino?

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 10:42 am
by meddyliol
Just realised, I have already built the Motor Control Board. I could de-solder the header but would rather not. Any suggestions?

Brian

Re: Ryanteck Robot using an Arduino?

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:06 am
by texy
Moving to Off-Topic, as the project is no longer Pi related.
Texy

Re: Ryanteck Robot using an Arduino?

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 1:09 pm
by BMS Doug
meddyliol wrote:Just realised, I have already built the Motor Control Board. I could de-solder the header but would rather not. Any suggestions?

Brian
you could use DuPont cables to connect from the motor controller board pins to your Arduino.

Re: Ryanteck Robot using an Arduino?

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:38 pm
by ryanteck
You sure can use jumper wires instead, you could use male to male ones or male to female ones with an arduino.

You'd need to connect 5V (Pin 2) Both sides of the motor (GPIO Pins 17,18 & 22,23) and ground (I think I used pin number 9 for the board).

You shouldn't need to wire anything extra up.

Re: Ryanteck Robot using an Arduino?

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:10 pm
by BMS Doug
So you will connect 4 Outputs from the arduino to the ryantech 26 pin header (where GPIOs 17,18 & 22,23 would connect) as well as 5v (GPIO4) and Gnd (GPIO6).

You will also connect 5v and Gnd to the IR receiver and connect the signal to an arduino input.

Then you just need to find some arduino code to decode the IR signal and another bit of arduino code for running the motor controller, blend the two together for the win.

Re: Ryanteck Robot using an Arduino?

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2015 7:22 am
by meddyliol
Thanks very much for your replies. I now have a good idea as to what to do.

Brian :D :D