raser

Can Anyone Suggest a desktop Linux for RPi

Sat Feb 27, 2016 11:43 am

Can anyone suggest a Linux Operating System for the Pi that is working efficiently? (With a desktop / GUI)

I have Raspbian, but I Like the look of Ubuntu. I have been having no luck at all.

I am fairly new to Linux (had my Pi 2 months) and can't really manage without a desktop environment / GUI yet. I have tried to get 'Ubuntu Mate' but there's a problem with the web-page so it won't download.(others are having the same problem)

I have an image of 'Ubuntu Trusty Tahr' that works on my PI - but there is no desktop environment or gnome-desktop (I tried numerous methods and versions of desktop installation based on online tutorials) I have the OS working as a command line but as I said I can't operate a computer with just that alone (yet). I run an update and upgrade script, then try all sorts of methods cased on tutorials (each time it goes wrong I have to reformat the SD card and reinstall the image to try again!) and I've tried to get numerous different versions of desktop (individually of course) to find just ONE that works but i just get a small white square at the top left of my screen.

I liked the look of Kali because my future (and probably far-fetched) goal is to one-day be good enough at programming and computing to be a 'Pen-Tester' (Penetration Tester - NO it's not testing ink pens and it's not sexual in any way it is like a legal hacker where companies pay you to test their systems and find potential weaknesses) The Kali site (offensive security I believe) won't let me download the image - however I read online that people ARE running Kali Linux from their Raspberry Pi's with no problems. I understand that some setting up is probably required but It would be worth it.

I think Ubuntu is the way for me to get really into a full on Linux system and continue learning but I can't get a desktop version running on my Pi