jonah

BBC BASIC sound programming / interfacing with SN76489?

Fri Feb 07, 2014 12:00 am

sorry if this is the wrong place, there are a lot of sub forums, i'm not sure about the overlap.

i was wondering if BBC BASIC written on the Raspberry Pi is compatible with the BBC micro? Could i write code and then run it?

if yes, could i interface with the SN76489 (the main sound chip in the BBC micro) from the Raspberry Pi itself?

if yes to that :) does the "language" of BBC BASIC allow it to work with more than 1 SN76489? If not what would i have to do program assembly macros?

i'm a musician more than a programmer, i can work with arduinos, but i don't find them very "fun". i've done some Atari BASIC programming for their 8bit computers and (although their BASIC is slow) i really like working with BASIC. it's similar to how i think of musical ideas and i find that being able to write messy "bad" code works really well for thinking on your feet. it becomes a basically realtime experience once you have enough code. you can always go back to figure out what you did later and clean it up. :lol: and those old sound chips and their square waves usually sound pretty good run through some filters / EQ. :D

i've read that BBC BASIC has some nice built in commands for working with audio and it's reasonably fast. it would be fantastic to be able to work with it without sourcing "vintage" hardware. the computers themselves mostly still run fine, but peripherals and connectivity to the outside/modern world seems to be a real time and money sink.

thanks for any insight. :)

Steve Drain

Re: BBC BASIC sound programming / interfacing with SN76489?

Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:46 am

The version of BBC BASIC for RISC OS on the Pi is ultimately derived from the version on the BBC Micro, so at an elementary level programs can be mutually compatible. However, the sound systems are completely different and despite some superficial likenesses you cannot run programs written for one on the other.