thradtke
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 5:16 am
Location: Germany / EL

Screen size

Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:13 pm

RISC OS boots in 1920x1080, but immediately after that the screen is set to 640x480, 16 colours. Why? I can change it back, but get a black border at top and bottom, and it's not a permanent change; have to do it every time I boot. What am I doing wrong here?
Rocket Scientist.

thradtke
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 5:16 am
Location: Germany / EL

Re: Screen size

Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:29 pm

Really no one knows?

So, is it normal that changes made by clicking on this TV set icon and adjusting colours and resolution aren't saved? C'mon, someone has to know! :D
Rocket Scientist.

nr.
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:51 am
Location: The Fens
Contact: Website

Re: Screen size

Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:36 pm

Hi,

Which version of RISC OS are you using? I had this problem several weeks ago when it was first released on the R-Pi, but it was quickly fixed in an upgrade. My little raspberry icon (which I'm sure has a very serious RISC OS name, as I've discovered to my cost when talking about menu bars rather than icon bars in the past) shows I'm using version 5.19 (01-Nov-12).

Ta,
--
nr.

thradtke
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 5:16 am
Location: Germany / EL

Re: Screen size

Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:44 pm

It's 5.19, too, from 31st of October.
Rocket Scientist.

bhtooefr
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:28 am

Re: Screen size

Wed Nov 28, 2012 5:02 pm

Start up !PackMan, and have it update, then upgrade. Reboot, that'll make it save settings.

Also, the icon in the icon bar for changing video modes (the display manager) is for temporary changes. You want to run !Configure, then Screen. I'd pick the Generic monitor, then pick the display mode that matches, and set it there.

Oh, and the icon at the far right of the icon bar (the RPi logo icon, on the RPi builds - it's an Archimedes or Acorn logo on Acorn's builds, a cube (for RISC OS 4.0x) or cog (for later versions) on ROL's builds, the Iyonix logo on Iyonix builds, and looks like it's a cog on BeagleBoard builds) is called the task manager. (If you select-click it, you get a task manager.)

thradtke
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 5:16 am
Location: Germany / EL

Re: Screen size

Wed Nov 28, 2012 5:34 pm

Works, thanks :-).

I should have found the 'Generic' driver myself :-/.
Rocket Scientist.

Return to “RISCOS”