Page 1 of 1

Getting an error message with !Store

Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:21 pm
by Unhban
Hi guys. My Internet is working fine with !Packman and !Netsurf. I'm using an ethernet cable with my Pi to connect to a wifi router and assigned the Pi the IP Address 192.168.1.66 - just a bit of background info but basically the internet connection is not a problem.

When I run !Store though I get the error

Cannot find the server

I presume that the problem here is that !Store cannot find the DNS? I've looked through various files but cannot see anything related to solving this. However, I may be barking up the wrong tree, so anyone got any ideas please?

Regards, Unh.
P.S. loving coming back to RISC OS! Used to have an A3000, in fact still have it so may boot it up soon! :o

Re: Getting an error message with !Store

Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:51 pm
by grannyg
Unhban wrote:Hi guys. My Internet is working fine with !Packman and !Netsurf. I'm using an ethernet cable with my Pi to connect to a wifi router and assigned the Pi the IP Address 192.168.1.66 - just a bit of background info but basically the internet connection is not a problem.

When I run !Store though I get the error

Cannot find the server
RISC OS uses the 'Resolver' module for DNS. It sounds like the config for this isn't being set correctly. You can confirm it by trying to ping something on the internet. Bring up a 'Task Window' and type 'ping bbc.co.uk'. It'll say unknown host or just hang. The reason !Packman and !NetSurf work is they don't use the 'Resolver' module for DNS.

If it hangs type 'rmreinit resolver' in a task window and try again.
If you get unknown hosts type 'show Inet$Resolver'. It normally shows the ip address of the DNS server. If it's not set you can set it manually by double clicking on !Boot, then Click Network, Internet, Host Names. Tick the box 'Try name server too'. You can then set the name server to a known DNS server ip address. Then click set when required and reboot.

Re: Getting an error message with !Store

Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 1:59 pm
by Unhban
Voila! It worked!

After I'd typed rmreinit resolver in the Task Window I could then ping bbc.co.uk OK, then !Store started working.

An added bonus is that the Network Time Protocol in !Alarm now works too!

Thanks so much grannyg!

Unh.