tony1tf

Boot file lost after setting up Internet

Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:38 pm

Hi
I have just loaded RiscOS 2012-11-01 onto a 2GB card and successfully booted it up, and set the HDMI monitor up. I tried to configure the Internet connection to use my Mac's Ethernet connection as I have done previously with the Linux distros and after saving the settings it asked me to reboot. However, now it tells me the boot file is missing. There is only a default desktop, and a very low resolution default monitor. I can reset the monitor OK, but everything else is missing except the Apps Utilites. As I am a past expert user of RiscOS, I am able to use !Edit to look at the files.
The filing system shows SDFS::PiBoot$ with folders /fseventsd and /Trashes and a few small files - in particular, the system has just written a file /_/Trashes which is a 4k DOS file mainly full of nulls, except in the first few characters where I can see "Mac OS X" and a few binary numbers.
I will go back and reflash the SD card, but I dont want to go round endless loops with SD file corruption, so I wonder if anyone else has experienced this and has a solution.

Tony

tony1tf

Re: Boot file lost after setting up Internet

Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:16 pm

More on this - I reflashed the SD card, and enabled the Internet connection again (make sure Ethernet over USB is ticked in Interfaces - presumably RiscOS thinks the ethernet port is USB). I did not let the system reboot, but ticked "later", then went into shutdown (middle mouse click on the raspberry symbol, or CTRL SHIFT F12). Clicking on restart it all booted OK with Ethernet enabled, and Net Surf connecting to the outside world.
So the only difference from it not working before is that I allowed time for the configuration changes to be written before rebooting.
Now happily playing.
Tony

Burngate

Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:56 pm

We need input from "Someone Who Knows" but I don't think old-fashioned RISC OS did anything about syncing discs