andalus
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:22 pm

Ethernet on RISCOS not detectable

Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:28 pm

Hi,

I am running RISCOS for my first time. I tempered a bit with the OS and its windows, but it doesn't detect my Ethernet adapter. It has only a USB-to-Ethernet adapter mentioned in its networking.

Anybody knows how may I let the RISC OS detect the ethernet adapter?

I am using Raspberry Pi 3.

Best,

Amjad

andalus
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Ethernet on RISCOS not detectable

Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:24 pm

would anybody jump to help? :(

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 17860
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: Ethernet on RISCOS not detectable

Wed Sep 26, 2018 8:59 pm

andalus wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:28 pm
Hi,

I am running RISCOS for my first time. I tempered a bit with the OS and its windows, but it doesn't detect my Ethernet adapter. It has only a USB-to-Ethernet adapter mentioned in its networking.

Anybody knows how may I let the RISC OS detect the ethernet adapter?

I am using Raspberry Pi 3.

Best,

Amjad

Maybe ask the developers ??

https://www.riscosopen.org/forum/
Adieu

bulldozer
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 9:53 am

Re: Ethernet on RISCOS not detectable

Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:50 pm

Hi what RISCOS are you using and which Pi you are using. I have an out of the box Pi 3B and a SD card from ROOL and it works quite nicely.


andalus
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Ethernet on RISCOS not detectable

Sun Sep 30, 2018 7:41 pm

bulldozer wrote:
Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:50 pm
Hi what RISCOS are you using and which Pi you are using. I have an out of the box Pi 3B and a SD card from ROOL and it works quite nicely.
I am using RPi 3B. I installed the OS from the website and put it on the SD card. The OS opens with no problem. but it seems it can't detect or see the ethernet nor the wifi adapters.

andalus
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Ethernet on RISCOS not detectable

Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:56 pm

bulldozer wrote:
Thu Sep 27, 2018 2:10 pm
Also an interresting piece at http://www.riscos.org/networking/riscos.html
Also perhaps of interrest : https://www.riscosopen.org/wiki/documen ... Networking
Thanks. I've looked into those posts but they assume I have the ethernet card icon. I don't.

andalus
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Ethernet on RISCOS not detectable

Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:56 pm

fruitoftheloom wrote:
Wed Sep 26, 2018 8:59 pm
andalus wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:28 pm
Hi,

I am running RISCOS for my first time. I tempered a bit with the OS and its windows, but it doesn't detect my Ethernet adapter. It has only a USB-to-Ethernet adapter mentioned in its networking.

Anybody knows how may I let the RISC OS detect the ethernet adapter?

I am using Raspberry Pi 3.

Best,

Amjad

Maybe ask the developers ??

https://www.riscosopen.org/forum/
Thanks. This is what I eventually did.

bulldozer
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 9:53 am

Re: Ethernet on RISCOS not detectable

Mon Oct 01, 2018 9:40 am

andalus wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 7:41 pm
bulldozer wrote:
Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:50 pm
Hi what RISCOS are you using and which Pi you are using. I have an out of the box Pi 3B and a SD card from ROOL and it works quite nicely.
I am using RPi 3B. I installed the OS from the website and put it on the SD card. The OS opens with no problem. but it seems it can't detect or see the ethernet nor the wifi adapters.
If you downloaded it strait it shouldn't be a problem but I see that you also submitted the question on the ROOL forum. WiFi is not supported by RISCOS at this moment.

andalus
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Ethernet on RISCOS not detectable

Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:28 pm

It is working now.
on RISCOS forums they said that USB-to-Ethernet adapter that i see on my settings is the Ethernet. but because they Ethernet on the RPi 3 is USB based then that's why it appears this way.

Another point of confusion that happened with me is, after the RISCOS fails to get an IP address from DHCP, it falls back to manual IP address. Even If I try to reboot again, the IP assignment settings is set permanently to manual assignment!!! I assumed it should try DHCP every time it boots but it seems it is not. I had to go to the IP assignment settings and change it to DHCP to get it to work with DHCP server.
Now things are fine. thank you all for your valuable assistance.

Amjad
Last edited by andalus on Sun Nov 25, 2018 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bulldozer
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 9:53 am

Re: Ethernet on RISCOS not detectable

Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:05 pm

Your welcome no problem. If you have more questions please don't hesitate to ask...

Return to “RISCOS”