Martin Frezman
Posts: 1020
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:05 am

RISCOS and wireless?

Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:03 pm

Does RISCOS support WiFi at all?

On boot, I get a message about it trying to connect via Ethernet, but nothing about WiFi? Is the problem that it doesn't support my Wifi dongle or is it that it doesn't support WiFi at all?
If this post appears in the wrong forums category, my apologies.

dfeugey
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: France
Contact: Website

Re: RISCOS and wireless?

Sat Jan 14, 2017 10:35 am

No, there is no WiFi support... for now. It's possible, as WiFi support was once available on RISC OS computers. But not today.
RISC OS FR - All RISC OS, in french (but not only)
http://www.riscos.fr/

Martin Frezman
Posts: 1020
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:05 am

Re: RISCOS and wireless?

Sat Jan 14, 2017 12:49 pm

OK. Thanks.
If this post appears in the wrong forums category, my apologies.

Micha1982
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:18 am

Re: RISCOS and wireless?

Sun Mar 04, 2018 1:05 pm

Does this change at any time maybe, is anyone working on it? Without internet/wifi it makes no sense to try it out at all to me.
Alles, was schiefgehen kann, wird auch schiefgehen.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 17487
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: RISCOS and wireless?

Sun Mar 04, 2018 1:11 pm

Micha1982 wrote:
Sun Mar 04, 2018 1:05 pm
Does this change at any time maybe, is anyone working on it? Without internet/wifi it makes no sense to try it out at all to me.

The Developers do not hang out here:

https://www.riscosopen.org/content/down ... spberry-pi
Adieu

dfeugey
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: France
Contact: Website

Re: RISCOS and wireless?

Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:25 pm

Internet works... with an Ethernet cable. For WiFi, you'll have to wait, but it's high on the RISC OS' todo list.
RISC OS FR - All RISC OS, in french (but not only)
http://www.riscos.fr/

User avatar
DavidS
Posts: 3096
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:39 am
Location: USA
Contact: Website

Re: RISCOS and wireless?

Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:51 am

Micha1982 wrote:
Sun Mar 04, 2018 1:05 pm
Does this change at any time maybe, is anyone working on it? Without internet/wifi it makes no sense to try it out at all to me.
For a desktop computer (such as a RPi with RISC OS) WiFi does not make any since. Use Ethernet instead, like you would with any desktop computer, it works quite well.

You can get on the internet using Ethernet. And there is a LOT MORE to computing than just accessing the internet.
26-Bit R15 to 32-bit. 16-bit addressing to 24-bit. ARM and 65xx two CPU's that continue on, and are better than ever. Assembly Language forever :) .

handsomegenius
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 2:35 am

Re: RISCOS and wireless?

Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:52 am

DavidS wrote:
Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:51 am
For a desktop computer (such as a RPi with RISC OS) WiFi does not make any since.
It's totally the other way around IMO.

The files you need for your Risc OS projects are so small, that there's no real need to worry about plugging straight into the router if it's not conveniently placed.

Here's how I'm dealing with it: http://oi67.tinypic.com/2lm2yrs.jpg

The Pi on the left is running Raspbian - it's mostly a home theatre and retro gaming rig, but I configured dnsmasq for it to serve double duty as a wireless bridge as well.

It works pretty well - I can download files to Risc OS without interrupting my album streaming on youtube. It isn't the fastest way to connect to the internet, but Risc OS doesn't really need it.

Return to “RISCOS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests