jubdad

Trouble installing RISCOS on Pi3

Mon Mar 14, 2016 5:45 pm

Hi,
I'm brand new to the world of Pi and have hit a wall trying to load RISCOS onto my Pi3. I've tried burning the RC14 image to an SD card using PiBaker and dd but with the same result. I get the rainbow screen plus the rainbow icon which I understand normally indicates undervoltage but there's a healthy 5 volts on the GPIO connector.

I wonder if I'm wasting my time and the latest RISCOS release isn't compatible with the Pi3 but I bought the thing on the (mis?)understanding that it was compatible with Pi2 software.

Help and TIA.

fruitoftheloom

Re: Trouble installing RISCOS on Pi3

Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:00 pm

jubdad wrote:Hi,
I'm brand new to the world of Pi and have hit a wall trying to load RISCOS onto my Pi3. I've tried burning the RC14 image to an SD card using PiBaker and dd but with the same result. I get the rainbow screen plus the rainbow icon which I understand normally indicates undervoltage but there's a healthy 5 volts on the GPIO connector.

I wonder if I'm wasting my time and the latest RISCOS release isn't compatible with the Pi3 but I bought the thing on the (mis?)understanding that it was compatible with Pi2 software.

Help and TIA.
Try using a better quality PSU which can deliver a steady 5v2A+

http://uk.farnell.com/stontronics/t5875 ... dp/2520785
Adieu

josvisser

Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:07 pm

Same problem here. Glad it's not just me :-) I tried to replace the bootcode.bin, fixup.dat, and start.elf from the latest firmware release (on Github), but that does not work either.

What I am suspecting is that the new Pi3 Cortex-A53 CPU is 64-bit whereas the old (Pi2) Cortex-A7 is a 32-bit core. I am not sure what mode the Pi3 boots in. The config.txt documentation at https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... fig-txt.md does not give any information about this, so I am wondering about this. I'll continue studying the documentation and will update this thread when I learn something.