Page 1 of 1

RISCOS virtualization?

Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:19 pm
by scruss
Would it be possible to virtualize RISCOS? By that, I mean give it a core and a few hundred MB of RAM on a Raspberry Pi 2, and let it do its thing to a display under Linux?

(as you can tell, I know little of the technical requirements here …)

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:39 pm
by kusti8
Linux as in x86?

You're going to need to use QEMU. There are tutorials on how to do this for Raspbian, they shouldn't be very different for RISCOS. Look around on Google.

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:45 pm
by fruitoftheloom

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:57 pm
by ghans

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 8:49 pm
by scruss
kusti8 wrote:Linux as in x86?
No, Linux like Raspbian on an arm7, as in the Raspberry Pi 2. Not emulation.

Now, if the processor doesn't support virtualization, then we are likely out of luck.

Stewart

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:42 pm
by DavidS
Possible? Probably, though the amount of work needed to do so would be huge at the least, and it would slow down RISC OS.

What do you need linux for so much that you would make this sacrifice?

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Posted: Mon May 18, 2015 4:45 pm
by mimi123
DavidS wrote:Possible? Probably, though the amount of work needed to do so would be huge at the least, and it would slow down RISC OS.

What do you need linux for so much that you would make this sacrifice?
With Qemu KVM, you can run RISC OS for BeagleBoard without modification!
[already done]

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Posted: Thu Oct 24, 2019 3:13 pm
by scruss
Looks like this might actually be happening: TimothyEBaldwin/RISC_OS_Linux_Source: Linux port of RISC OS.

It might not be quite at the "open RISC OS as a window on my Raspbian desktop" stage that I'd hoped for back in 2015, but it's a start.
You do need to buy the £50 proprietary Desktop Development Environment to build it, though.