GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 12:39 pm

Can't start x mali gpu??

Mon Nov 18, 2013 9:42 pm

I can't run x/startx etc.

it exits with the following:

Module mali_drm not found
SunxiMaliDRI2_init: drmOpen Failed!

etc...

Raspberry pi doesn't use MALI! O.o

so I tried to run sudo Xorg -configure


but it says

No devices to configure.

and yes I have vesa and fbdev installed!

MoosePi
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 4:42 pm

Re: Can't start x mali gpu??

Mon Nov 18, 2013 9:47 pm

I am not quite sure what you have installed or trying to achieve, but this is a basic
guide to Arch Linux Arm LXDE Desktop Install which includes the xorg etcetera packages:

http://blog.solusipse.net/arch-xorg-lxde
Pi Forum Search and Google yields answers to many questions

GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 12:39 pm

Re: Can't start x mali gpu??

Mon Nov 18, 2013 9:53 pm

I am trying to start lightdm

I've tried lighdtm --test-mode --debug
and
sudo lightdm

both starts x, goes black, and ends with the same message right after Loading extension GLX

startx as my user fails the same way (xterm)
sudo startx works! but that's as root...

MoosePi
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 4:42 pm

Re: Can't start x mali gpu??

Mon Nov 18, 2013 11:18 pm

Pi Forum Search and Google yields answers to many questions

GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 12:39 pm

Re: Can't start x mali gpu??

Tue Nov 19, 2013 1:48 pm

most likely lightdm_pantheon_greeter that I compiled isn't working, causing this odd behavious. I'm going to try gtk3 greeter now and see if that gives me any better luck

MoosePi
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 4:42 pm

Re: Can't start x mali gpu??

Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:20 pm

It is best to use official packages as they will be for ARMv6 !
Pi Forum Search and Google yields answers to many questions

acorreya
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 2:45 am

Re: Can't start x mali gpu??

Sat Dec 28, 2013 2:51 am

Hi GTG!
I think your answer lies within ~/.xinitrc
please edit it in vi or nano (or whatever is available). You might have to add something like
exec lightdm
in it. Just worked for me now.

Return to “Arch”