Axolotl9250
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:57 pm

Setting Up Arch

Wed Dec 19, 2012 6:26 pm

Hi, I used to use Arch on a laptop but stopped about a year ago so before systemd and it seems the setup has also changed somewhat looking at the detailed setup wiki. However I'm having some issues setting up.

First I'm somewhat confused as to what do do after writing the image to disk and booting up, because obviously the full wiki on setting up applies to full PC version, so once I'm at the promt I'm unsure of where to go from there, what is set up, what is not, with my laptop, after going through the install process, rebooting and arriving at the prompt, I knew what I had. Doing pacman -Syu is not working - some errors about certificates and not reaching mirrors. However I reinstalled base-devel with pacman -S base-devel just fine :?:

I have a EW-7811Un nano wireless module and I'm unsure about setting it up too, older threads where people have managed this was back when the ArchARM still used rc.conf way of doing things and I wondered if since then there's a package or other way to get it running, I know on the debain distro it just works out the box now, whereas before it did not, will the modules in the AUR work (dkms-8192cu)?.

Thanks,

Ben W.

Axolotl9250
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:57 pm

Re: Setting Up Arch

Wed Dec 19, 2012 6:29 pm

EDIT: My Wireless USB device does show up with lsusb. When I had to set up wifi devices in the past it was often harder is lsusb or iwconfig did not detect them.

Cloudcentric
Posts: 982
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:13 am

Re: Setting Up Arch

Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:30 pm

I undertook a basic setup with LXDE Desktop, as a proof of concept and it may be of help ?

http://archlinuxpi.blogspot.co.uk

Any Packages must be for ARMv6....
I know everything about nothing"

flyinghappy
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: Setting Up Arch

Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:33 pm

The .img comes basically with the base and base-devel packages IIRC. So basically, it would be set up your network, install the packages you want and have fun
Pi with ArchLinux running a minidlna/samba home server

cjan
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Setting Up Arch

Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:36 pm

can someone kindly show me how to setup wifi from 1st place since do not have wired network here, thanks.

pepedog
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:55 am

Re: Setting Up Arch

Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:18 pm

We don't know about your wifi, what does ifconfig -a say?

cjan
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Setting Up Arch

Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:20 pm

pepedog wrote:We don't know about your wifi, what does ifconfig -a say?
its EW-7811Un nano and wlan0 up ok, dont know any thing about systemd so try do iwconfig and dhcdcp with no luck.

sdjf
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:20 am
Location: California
Contact: Website

Re: Setting Up Arch

Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:37 pm

Pepedog is asking you to please post the output of the command "ifconfig -a". You keep typing iwconfig, the command is ifconfig with no "w" in it.
FORUM TIP: To view someone's posting history, sign in, click on their user name, then on "Search User's Posts." || Running ArchLinuxArm on Model 2B and 512MB Model B

drirr
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:06 am

Re: Setting Up Arch

Mon Dec 24, 2012 8:06 am

If the interface is up and you're connecting to a completely open network then I guess the following might work:

Code: Select all

systemctl start [email protected]
Though you're better of if you start using netcfg from the start: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Netcfg.
Raspberry Pi (rev 000f, 512MB RAM) with heatsinks and a modmypi case running Arch Linux ARM (armv6h) hooked up to a 750GB 2.5" USB-harddrive

pepedog
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:55 am

Re: Setting Up Arch

Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:35 am

Install netcfg, it will tell you optional things to install
Now copy /etc/network.d/examples/wireless-wpa into /etc/network.d/ and edit it to your liking
Edit /etc/conf.d/netcfg
See this line?
NETWORKS=(last)
Change it to
NETWORKS=(wireless-wpa)
That line can have multiple entries for each interface, copy what you want from examples

Delete any dhcpd files in /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants
Now to activate on boot
systemctl enable netcfg

cjan
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Setting Up Arch

Mon Dec 24, 2012 11:11 am

thanks guys, will try it.

cjan
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Setting Up Arch

Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:47 pm

sorry, i thought netcfg was installed by default but it isn't and 'systemctl start [email protected]' not ok.
as i posted, there no wired network here, so i can not do anything install...

btw, many classrom had have no wired environment but wifi, since archarmlinux upgrade its firemware why not release a new img with wifi by default like raspbian did?

pepedog
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:55 am

Re: Setting Up Arch

Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:55 pm

Netcfg is default next image

Return to “Arch”