gounthar
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:39 pm

GPU memory problem

Tue Sep 25, 2018 8:39 am

Hi,

a friend of mine has a really nice development environment based on ArchLinux, so I thought I could give it a try with the 3B+.
I almost installed everything, but I am facing some memory issue:

Code: Select all

[   55.989445] [drm:vc4_bo_create [vc4]] *ERROR* Failed to allocate from CMA:
[   56.006893] [drm]                         kernel:   8100kb BOs (1)
[   56.023581] [drm]                            V3D:  50824kb BOs (19)
[   56.040312] [drm]                     V3D shader:     80kb BOs (20)
[   56.056912] [drm]                           dumb:     48kb BOs (3)
[   56.073536] [drm]                total purged BO:    264kb BOs (7)
[   56.090483] [drm:vc4_bo_create [vc4]] *ERROR* Failed to allocate from CMA:
[   56.107844] [drm]                         kernel:   8100kb BOs (1)
[   56.124491] [drm]                            V3D:  50824kb BOs (19)
[   56.141166] [drm]                     V3D shader:     80kb BOs (20)
[   56.157832] [drm]                           dumb:     48kb BOs (3)
[   56.174388] [drm]                total purged BO:    264kb BOs (7)
I changed (ok, wild guesses) a few parameters, but I still have the problem:

Code: Select all

cat /boot/cmdline.txt
coherent_pool=6M smsc95xx.turbo_mode=N cma=128
poddingue in ~ at numeriquelles ➜ cat /boot/config.txt
enable_uart=1
gpu_mem=128
cma_lwm=16
cma_hwm=256
Would you have any suggestion?

Thanks.
2*3B at home for the kids
7*3B+ at work for serious business (gitlab-runner, broadcasting conference, openSTF server...)
Hoping to get a few hats in the following weeks

cjan
Posts: 623
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:00 am

Re: GPU memory problem

Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:46 pm

to my knowledge, enable VC4 drive no need to add gpu_mem & cma.

gounthar
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:39 pm

Re: GPU memory problem

Tue Sep 25, 2018 1:28 pm

Thanks.
So, should I add something like that in config.txt?

Code: Select all

dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d
Probably not, as I got:

Code: Select all

[   30.204209] vc4_v3d 3fc00000.v3d: Failed to allocate memory for tile binning: -12. You may need to enable CMA or give it more memory.
[   30.217054] [drm:vc4_bo_create [vc4]] *ERROR* Failed to allocate from CMA:
[   30.224165] [drm]                         kernel:   8100kb BOs (1)
[   30.230528] [drm]                            V3D:  49704kb BOs (15)
[   30.236915] [drm]                     V3D shader:     56kb BOs (14)
[   30.243352] [drm]                           dumb:     48kb BOs (3)
[   30.249664] [drm]                total purged BO:     12kb BOs (3)
Thanks.
2*3B at home for the kids
7*3B+ at work for serious business (gitlab-runner, broadcasting conference, openSTF server...)
Hoping to get a few hats in the following weeks

gounthar
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:39 pm

Re: GPU memory problem

Wed Oct 03, 2018 4:20 pm

Sorry to bump this thread...
I am supposed to lead a small workshop at the University next week regarding collaborative development with a limited budget.
I'm ready for the Raspberry Pi Gitlab-ce server, Raspberry Pi Gitlab-ci runner, but I'm stuck with this Raspberry Pi development machine...
I know it was a bit ambitious for this machine running Atom/i3wm and so on, and I even don't know if this could work regarding memory constraints and my ArchLInux/Raspberry knowledge, but I'd like to go to the end... so that I know it could work (or not).
Could anyone give me a hint?
Thanks.
2*3B at home for the kids
7*3B+ at work for serious business (gitlab-runner, broadcasting conference, openSTF server...)
Hoping to get a few hats in the following weeks

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 20929
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: GPU memory problem

Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:25 am

gounthar wrote:
Wed Oct 03, 2018 4:20 pm
Sorry to bump this thread...
I am supposed to lead a small workshop at the University next week regarding collaborative development with a limited budget.
I'm ready for the Raspberry Pi Gitlab-ce server, Raspberry Pi Gitlab-ci runner, but I'm stuck with this Raspberry Pi development machine...
I know it was a bit ambitious for this machine running Atom/i3wm and so on, and I even don't know if this could work regarding memory constraints and my ArchLInux/Raspberry knowledge, but I'd like to go to the end... so that I know it could work (or not).
Could anyone give me a hint?
Thanks.
Sorry, not idea what you are actually asking, and what it has to do with the thread title.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

gounthar
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:39 pm

Re: GPU memory problem

Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:46 am

I'm asking for some help on how to handle the memory sharing between the GPU and CPU for my use case, which is (supposed to be) a fancy development environment under ArchLinux.
If this ever succeeds, I will use it in a workshop next week at the local university.
Thanks.
2*3B at home for the kids
7*3B+ at work for serious business (gitlab-runner, broadcasting conference, openSTF server...)
Hoping to get a few hats in the following weeks

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 20929
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: GPU memory problem

Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:42 am

gounthar wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:46 am
I'm asking for some help on how to handle the memory sharing between the GPU and CPU for my use case, which is (supposed to be) a fancy development environment under ArchLinux.
If this ever succeeds, I will use it in a workshop next week at the local university.
Thanks.
Just use the default I would think.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

Return to “Arch”