Page 1 of 1

Arch Linux 64bit on Raspberry Pi 3

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:40 pm
by gufkl123
Hello guys
I want to ask
I want to install the linux arm arch in raspberry pi 3
but I'm confused to choose between 32bit or 64bit
on the arch linux arm website, in section aarch64 there is a description like this:
"Aarch64 Installation
This provides an installation using the mainline kernel and U-Boot." There is no support for the vendor-provided libraries, extensions, or related software. "Some of the hardware on the board may not work, or it may perform poorly."
is the statement true?
that's what makes me hesitate to try the 64bit version
so I have to choose which one?
does the application support better on 32bit?
64bit version can also run 32bit application right?
I see in the package list, 64bit applications are not complete compared to 32bit
sorry for i ask a lot :oops:

Re: Arch Linux 64bit on Raspberry Pi 3

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:40 pm
by jamesh
The RPF(T) recommend Raspbian, which is 32bit. Generally there are some minor performance improvement on 64, but nothing huge. But if you really want Arch, I'd go with 32bit, since we know all the Raspberry specific stuff works in 32bit and we know there are some issues with running them under 64bit.

Re: Arch Linux 64bit on Raspberry Pi 3

Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:54 am
by Koeshi
Basically go with the 32-bit version if you want wifi and bluetooth to work.

Re: Arch Linux 64bit on Raspberry Pi 3

Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:39 am
by gufkl123
jamesh wrote:
Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:40 pm
The RPF(T) recommend Raspbian, which is 32bit. Generally there are some minor performance improvement on 64, but nothing huge. But if you really want Arch, I'd go with 32bit, since we know all the Raspberry specific stuff works in 32bit and we know there are some issues with running them under 64bit.
Thx,i go with 32bit then

Re: Arch Linux 64bit on Raspberry Pi 3

Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:40 am
by gufkl123
Koeshi wrote:
Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:54 am
Basically go with the 32-bit version if you want wifi and bluetooth to work.
All right,thx you