AndyPi
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 10:24 pm
Location: Gloucestershire,UK

Pi3

Wed Mar 02, 2016 1:01 pm

Arch Arm site indicates that for now Pi3 is to use Pi2 software https://archlinuxarm.org/platforms/armv ... berry-pi-3

I assume that taking a fully updated Pi2 card and plugging into Pi3 is equivalent to doing a fresh install (?). However although Pi3 + Pi2 card boots OK it seems to boot as Pi2. Can't see wireless, clock speeds remain unchanged etc.

Is this to be expected or should I do a fresh install? When will a specific build for Pi3 be available ?

BBUK
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:34 am

Re: Pi3

Thu Mar 03, 2016 7:58 am

Same with me, albeit with a fresh install.

I do see the pi3 .dtb in /boot (which confirms I should have the correct image).

I have not investigated the issue to any great degree so it may just something I have not done correctly. I'll report back once I have had a decent check.

BBUK

AndyPi
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 10:24 pm
Location: Gloucestershire,UK

Re: Pi3

Thu Mar 03, 2016 12:33 pm

On my updated Pi2 image it also has
bcm2710-rpi-3-b.dtb
in /boot so at least it knows about it. I seem to recall that the boot messages properly identified the Pi3.

AndyPi
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 10:24 pm
Location: Gloucestershire,UK

Re: Pi3 Arch

Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:26 pm

For completeness:

Pi2 dmesg fragments
CPU: ARMv7 Processor [410fc075] revision 5 (ARMv7), cr=10c5387d
[ 0.000000] CPU: PIPT / VIPT nonaliasing data cache, VIPT aliasing instruction cache
[ 0.000000] Machine model: Raspberry Pi 2 Model B Rev 1.1

and
Kernel command line: dma.dmachans=0x7f35 bcm2708_fb.fbwidth=1024 bcm2708_fb.fbheight=768 bcm2709.boardrev=0xa01041 bcm2709.serial=0xc1556def smsc95xx.macaddr=B8:27:EB:55:6D:EF bcm2708_fb.fbswap=1 bcm2709.uart_clock=3000000 bcm2709.disk_led_gpio=47 bcm2709.disk_led_active_low=0 vc_mem.mem_base=0x3dc00000 vc_mem.mem_size=0x3f000000 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rw rootwait console=tty1 selinux=0 plymouth.enable=0 smsc95xx.turbo_mode=N dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 elevator=noop raid=noautodetect
On Pi3, same card:
CPU: ARMv7 Processor [410fd034] revision 4 (ARMv7), cr=10c5383d
[ 0.000000] CPU: PIPT / VIPT nonaliasing data cache, VIPT aliasing instruction cache
[ 0.000000] Machine model: Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Rev 1.2
and
Kernel command line: 8250.nr_uarts=1 dma.dmachans=0x7f35 bcm2708_fb.fbwidth=640 bcm2708_fb.fbheight=480 bcm2709.boardrev=0xa02082 bcm2709.serial=0x2b40e72c smsc95xx.macaddr=B8:27:EB:40:E7:2C bcm2708_fb.fbswap=1 bcm2709.uart_clock=48000000 vc_mem.mem_base=0x3dc00000 vc_mem.mem_size=0x3f000000 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rw rootwait console=tty1 selinux=0 plymouth.enable=0 smsc95xx.turbo_mode=N dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 elevator=noop raid=noautodetect
My cmdline.txt is
root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rw rootwait console=tty1 selinux=0 plymouth.enable=0 smsc95xx.turbo_mode=N dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 elevator=noop raid=noautodetect

sdjf
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:20 am
Location: California
Contact: Website

Re: Pi3

Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:11 pm

I do not have a Pi3, but would suggest you make sure that you have the packages installed that are needed for wireless, and also enable the service. Detecting the hardware does not mean the wireless software is there or enabled, and you are using a Pi2 system.
FORUM TIP: To view someone's posting history, sign in, click on their user name, then on "Search User's Posts." || Running ArchLinuxArm on Model 2B and 512MB Model B

AndyPi
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 10:24 pm
Location: Gloucestershire,UK

Re: Pi3

Thu Mar 10, 2016 1:56 pm

All good in Arch 4.1.19-3

PS add
ExecUpPost='iw dev wlan0 set power_save off'
to netctl profile to disable the bothersome power management

pepedog
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:55 am

Re: Pi3

Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:50 pm

AndyPi wrote:All good in Arch 4.1.19-3

PS add
ExecUpPost='iw dev wlan0 set power_save off'
to netctl profile to disable the bothersome power management
Not needed now
https://github.com/raspberrypi/linux/co ... b4418e8ca4

Return to “Arch”