Chris.Rowland
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 5:45 pm

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:52 pm

Thanks very much for this, I tried it last night and it seems to work fine on Windows7 64bits.

A couple of ideas/suggstions.

It's possible to set things (in the manifest I think) so that the program will only run with UAC elevation. Can this be added please? This would help users who forget to run it as administrator.

Could the SD card drive name that the native OS knows it as be shown? So on a windows system the name contains something like E:\  .  This would help to make it clear which drive is going to be nuked.

These things could seriously reduce support calls.

User avatar
ArborealSeer
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:48 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 2:34 pm

Chris Rowland said:


Thanks very much for this, I tried it last night and it seems to work fine on Windows7 64bits.

A couple of ideas/suggstions.

It's possible to set things (in the manifest I think) so that the program will only run with UAC elevation. Can this be added please? This would help users who forget to run it as administrator.


I totally forgot about manifests when I posted about how to elevate. (as the project i just did it in doesn't have to be elevated in all scenarios)

Chris Rowland said:


Could the SD card drive name that the native OS knows it as be shown? So on a windows system the name contains something like E:\  .  This would help to make it clear which drive is going to be nuked.

These things could seriously reduce support calls.


I suggested that already :)
Pi Status > Farnell, Arrived 24/5- RS, Arrived 1/6

fshields
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:31 pm

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:20 pm

Chris Rowland said:


Could the SD card drive name that the native OS knows it as be shown? So on a windows system the name contains something like E:\  .  This would help to make it clear which drive is going to be nuked.


Firstly, the installer is imaging an entire disk, not just a partition or volume.

Secondly, a drive letter is only assigned if the following conditions are met:


1. There are partitions already on the SD card or drive. (Many people may be using brand new out-of-the-box SD cards that are completely blank)
2. The partition must contain 1 or more volumes (Primary partitions contain only one volume, while extended partitions can contain multiple volumes)
3. The volumes have been formatted in a structure that the OS understands (FAT32, NTFS, etc.)
4. The formatted volume has been assigned a drive letter manually or the OS has autoassigned a drive letter (It is possible to have volumes that will not grab a drive letter. These are typically mounted in an empty NTFS folder)

Also, multiple drive letters could be assigned to a single SD card if it contains multiple formatted volumes that it recognizes.

My guess is that you are using SD cards that you have already formatted before or that you might just want to see the drive letter of you existing drives so that you don't accidentally write over them.  It's a good idea, there just needs to be an understanding between disks and partitions.

Adding the volume type and label might also be useful.

For instance, my Disk 0 could be shown with the following in the installer dropdown (if it didn't get filtered out):

Disk 0 1863GB:  (OEM, 39MB); (Primary, 8GB, "RECOVERY");  (Primary, 1854GB, C:, "OS")

This adequately shows that my Disk 0 has an OEM utility volume, a recovery volume named "RECOVERY" but no drive letter, and a boot volume named "OS" that has been assigned the drive letter of C:

User avatar
Chromatix
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:00 pm
Location: Helsinki

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:28 pm

In Windows, SD cards are seen as removable drives.  Removable drives, AFAIK, always get a drive letter even if there is no media there.  This is certainly true for one of my card readers which always provides *three* drive letters: one for CF, one for MS, one for SD.  Even if there are multiple partitions on the card, Windows will only access the first one, via that drive letter.

Also, SD cards new from the box are practically always pre-formatted - maybe some specialist industrial cards aren't, but the ones *I* can buy in the shops are.  SD and SDHC come with FAT32, and SDXC comes with exFAT.
The key to knowledge is not to rely on people to teach you it.

morgad
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:24 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:30 pm

trying to run this on Ubuntu 8.04LTS, and something not ok  ...

./fedora-arm-installer
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "./fedora-arm-installer", line 929, in <module>
main()
File "./fedora-arm-installer", line 771, in main
sharedobj["infobutt"].clicked.connect(showinfo)
AttributeError: clicked

any suggestions how to get this running

Dave

User avatar
Chromatix
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:00 pm
Location: Helsinki

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:36 pm

Hmmm, 8.04 is pretty old so it could be running a very outdated version of Python.

You will probably be better off using dd with the raw image.  Or, starting from the gzipped version there's a way to save disk space on the host:$ sudo bash -
# zcat fedora-image.gz > /dev/card-device
# sync
# exit
$

Obviously, substitute the correct filename and device node above.  Don't blindly copy and paste.
The key to knowledge is not to rely on people to teach you it.

morgad
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:24 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:42 pm

Its my old FitPC2 webserver, that I am replacing with the Pi

python version is 2.5, I will try on another machine with later python

Dave

User avatar
Chromatix
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:00 pm
Location: Helsinki

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm

I just got around to trying the Windows installer - used the torrent image rather than having the installer download it.  Wrote to a 4GB Verbatim card no problem, fsck on my TrimSlice says all is well.  Very encouraging.
The key to knowledge is not to rely on people to teach you it.

rpural
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:30 pm
Location: Minnesota
Contact: Website

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:51 pm

I tried running the Fedora remix via qemu, per the instructions at http://www.cnx-software.com/tag/raspberry-pi/ , and it hangs up looping on the "Uncompressing Linux..." phrase.

The qemu command I ended up with was:

qemu-system-arm -M versatilepb -m 256 -hda raspberrypi-fedora-remix-14-r1.img -kernel zImage_3.1.9 -append "root=/dev/sda2" -serial stdio

Anyone have any idea what I might have wrong in the mix? I'd like to try to be sure my software is correct before my hardware arrives.

morgad
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:24 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:54 pm

morgad said:


Its my old FitPC2 webserver, that I am replacing with the Pi

python version is 2.5, I will try on another machine with later python

Dave



success once I found a machine that had sufficent spare disk space I got every thing to work.

many thanks for the help

Dave

User avatar
jbeale
Posts: 3476
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:51 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:30 pm

flyerblade said:


Hmmm. Can you run DiskPart (from the cmd line), then "LIST DISK" OK ?


I can confirm that the Windows Installer does not work as intended on WinXP SP3, because DiskPart does not see USB Flash drives (it only reports the built-in HDD).  Which is unfortunate, because both my work PC and all my home PCs run Win XP SP3.

(the obvious fix is to boot linux on one of the machines- I've been trying, and failing to make a bootable USB stick with Puppy Linux, but that's another story.  A live CD does work, but takes so long to boot and with so many grinding noises I'm worried it will break the CD drive.  Tried twice to install Lubuntu 11.10 on the HDD and after much transferring of files, that also failed...)

User avatar
psergiu
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:36 am
Location: TX, U.S.A. (was: RO, E.U.)
Contact: Website

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:36 pm

flyerblade said:


RorschachUK, you're a star - thanks for that. Excellent

Slightly curious as to if it can be done in Disk Utility - Restore but it's not important. I suspect not as that seems to restore to an existing partition.


It should work wint Disk Utility - i'll try tomorrow.

Also: i installed PyQt on OSX (10.6.8 64bit) and fedora-arm-installer shows up the GUI, detects the correct release but fails to download-it and also fails to detect any devices

http://bayimg.com/GAnFcAADc

Used this tutorial: http://www.noktec.be/python/ho.....qt4-on-osx but with the latest package versions and "x86_64" instead of "i386".

If we can get-it to work, it can be packaged as a standalone OSX .app with py2app: http://undefined.org/python/

User avatar
psergiu
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:36 am
Location: TX, U.S.A. (was: RO, E.U.)
Contact: Website

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:55 pm

Duh ... of course it won't detect any devices ...

Is anyone a python guru with enough skills to parse a property list returned by

"diskutil list -plist"

"diskutil info -plist diskX" ?

Format examples from my mac with a 1Gb SD card named CANON_DC in a USB card reader:

http://pastebin.com/7MfKDYUU

User avatar
ArborealSeer
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:48 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:06 pm

Chromatix said:


In Windows, SD cards are seen as removable drives.  Removable drives, AFAIK, always get a drive letter even if there is no media there.  This is certainly true for one of my card readers which always provides *three* drive letters: one for CF, one for MS, one for SD.  Even if there are multiple partitions on the card, Windows will only access the first one, via that drive letter.

Also, SD cards new from the box are practically always pre-formatted - maybe some specialist industrial cards aren't, but the ones *I* can buy in the shops are.  SD and SDHC come with FAT32, and SDXC comes with exFAT.


yup 100% agree.
Pi Status > Farnell, Arrived 24/5- RS, Arrived 1/6

steviewevie
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:36 am

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:22 pm

I see that in the blog update on the home page, Chris Tyler says that the installer doesn"t currently work on XP. I feel a certain sense of relief that it wasn"t just me doing something silly ! If necessary, I will boot off into Linux from a USB stick. But hopefully the installer will be fixed for XP before too long.

gwynevans
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:43 pm

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:47 pm

steviewevie said:


If necessary, I will boot off into Linux from a USB stick. But hopefully the installer will be fixed for XP before too long.


There's a "dd" for Windows at http://www.chrysocome.net/dd that I think I''ve used in the past on WinXP – I'm now on OSX so can''t check how it is for this…

rockhawk
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:24 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:05 am

steviewevie said:


I see that in the blog update on the home page, Chris Tyler says that the installer doesn"t currently work on XP. I feel a certain sense of relief that it wasn"t just me doing something silly ! If necessary, I will boot off into Linux from a USB stick. But hopefully the installer will be fixed for XP before too long.


You could always use the Windows disk imager as documented on the wiki.  Worked fine on XP for me!

http://elinux.org/RPi_Easy_SD_Card_Setup
Find Iridium Rising, our 3D space combat game, on the Pi Store!

User avatar
grumpyoldgit
Posts: 1452
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:20 pm

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:58 am

rpural said:


I tried running the Fedora remix via qemu, per the instructions at http://www.cnx-software.com/tag/raspberry-pi/ , and it hangs up looping on the "Uncompressing Linux..." phrase.

The qemu command I ended up with was:

qemu-system-arm -M versatilepb -m 256 -hda raspberrypi-fedora-remix-14-r1.img -kernel zImage_3.1.9 -append "root=/dev/sda2" -serial stdio

Anyone have any idea what I might have wrong in the mix? I'd like to try to be sure my software is correct before my hardware arrives.


I finally managed to get it going. You need:-

qemu-system-arm -M versatilepb -cpu arm1176 -m 192 -hda raspberrypi-fedora-remix-14-r1.img -kernel zImage_3.1.9 -append "root=/dev/sda2" -serial stdio -redir tcp:2222::22 -net none A couple of problems. Networking does not work and neither does your keyboard when you try to log in. This is documented on the site and they are going to look at it again tomorrow. The setting up process is a complete bastard. Unbelievable. The casual user is going to give up weeping in despair. I wanted to poke out the eyes of whoever set the security level.The password changing regime is very very strict and if you are not really quick it just goes back to the beginning again. People are just not going to be happy with it.

User avatar
grumpyoldgit
Posts: 1452
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:20 pm

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:05 am

Also the image is interactive. I started off with plenty of error messages but kept trying again and again. In the end I deleted the image and unzipped a fresh one. I had obviously trashed it in some way. You can see the initial process going through where things are initialised and processed for the first time. On subsequent reboots these processed are not repeated

User avatar
jojopi
Posts: 3079
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:32 am

Grumpyoldgit said:

A couple of problems. Networking does not work and neither does your keyboard when you try to log in. This is documented on the site and they are going to look at it again tomorrow.
Networking is fine for me. Keyboard is fine in text mode but sometimes the X server ignores its event device at startup. I assume this is some kind of race condition because after I had fixed it with a custom xorg.conf.d/qemu.conf I reverted my changes and it still worked!

To get full functionality in qemu you need to manually resize the image. The automatic resize fails because qemu's drive is /dev/sda instead of /dev/mmcblk0. First resize the image file on the host:qemu-img resize raspberrypi-fedora-remix-14-r1.img 3712M
Then boot the emulator and resize the partition:mknod /dev/sda b 8 0
mknod /dev/sda1 b 8 1
mknod /dev/sda2 b 8 2
echo -e "d\n2\nn\np\n2\n\n\np\nw\n" |fdisk /dev/sda
Then reboot the emulator and resize the filesystem:resize2fs /dev/sda2
The last step requires a qemu kernel that supports online resize. Otherwise you would have to stop the emulator and resize from the host:losetup -o $((206848*512)) /dev/loop7 raspberrypi-fedora-remix-14-r1.img
resize2fs /dev/loop7
losetup -d /dev/loop7
The setting up process is a complete bastard. Unbelievable. The casual user is going to give up weeping in despair. I wanted to poke out the eyes of whoever set the security level. The password changing regime is very very strict and if you are not really quick it just goes back to the beginning again. People are just not going to be happy with it.
The timezone selection is also broken. It seems to go to all the trouble of finding the correct zonefile but then never does anything with it. I added a line to /etc/rc.d/init.d/raspberrypi-firstboot: cp /usr/share/zoneinfo/"$ZONE" /etc/localtime
You should probably generate fresh SSH host keys:rm /etc/ssh/ssh_host_*
service sshd restart
There is a stray text file "/dev/ull"...

User avatar
grumpyoldgit
Posts: 1452
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:20 pm

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:46 am

Thanks. I was able to resize the file but after that you lost me. I have no idea how to load the emulator on it's own. If I try qemu or qemu-system-arm on their own, that want the name of the image. If I add the name of the image they want to load it.

User avatar
jojopi
Posts: 3079
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:55 am

Grumpyoldgit said:


Thanks. I was able to resize the file but after that you lost me. I have no idea how to load the emulator on it's own.


Each restart of qemu should be with the same image file and your favourite options, then log back in and become root.

It is just that you do need to restart the emulator for the bigger image to be recognised, and then again for the emulated kernel to recognise the bigger partition.

User avatar
cnxsoft
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 2:33 pm
Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contact: Website

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:44 am

jojopi said:

Keyboard is fine in text mode but sometimes the X server ignores its event device at startup. I assume this is some kind of race condition because after I had fixed it with a custom xorg.conf.d/qemu.conf I reverted my changes and it still worked!
I'm struggling to fix the keyboard issue. How did your custom xorg.conf.d/qemu.conf look it ?

User avatar
jojopi
Posts: 3079
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:53 am

cnxsoft said:

I'm struggling to fix the keyboard issue. How did your custom xorg.conf.d/qemu.conf look it ?
I was using:Section "Module"
Disable "glx"
EndSection
Section "InputClass"
Identifier "evdev keyboard catchall"
MatchIsKeyboard "on"
MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
Driver "evdev"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

But then it started working without, so am I no longer confident that those were either necessary or sufficient.

User avatar
cnxsoft
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 2:33 pm
Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contact: Website

Re: Fedora ARM on Raspberry Pi

Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:41 am

jojopi said:


cnxsoft said:


I'm struggling to fix the keyboard issue. How did your custom xorg.conf.d/qemu.conf look it ?


I was using:Section "Module"
Disable "glx"
EndSection
Section "InputClass"
Identifier "evdev keyboard catchall"
MatchIsKeyboard "on"
MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
Driver "evdev"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

But then it started working without, so am I no longer confident that those were either necessary or sufficient.


Thanks. It might or might not have helped, but I got the keyboard working once I switched to kernel 3.0.4 I pre-compiled. Maybe I missed something in the config of kernel 3.1.9.

Edit: I also had to change /tmp permission (chmod 777 /tmp) or it would just loop in the login screen.

Return to “Pidora / Fedora”