muharis93

I cannot understand Pi programming.

Sat Jun 20, 2015 12:05 am

First of all I am new in this field basically I am an electronic engineer and have some experience in MCU programming like PIC , AVR etc. In these device registers play a key role in getting a job done and there is on OS. This whole Linux thing is confusing me.

I want to know is there a way for directly accessing raspberry pi registers in C?link defining a direction of GPIO using data direction register or initializing URAT form URAT control register?

Is there any datasheet for PI like the ones that come with MCU?

How would you people recommend me to start with Pi keeping in mind my background?

Thankx

Paeryn

Re: I cannot understand Pi programming.

Sat Jun 20, 2015 1:59 am

The datasheet and various other information on the RPi can be found in this thread http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewt ... 72&t=72260. It's more bare metal than linux but there is information on the hardware registers and how to use them.

Accessing the registers directly from linux is just a case of using mmap() to map the register space into your process. Although be careful as linux itself and/or other processes may already be using them. Usually there will be device drivers which you use to request access to different resources so that linux can either share them with you if it can (through an API rather than direct register manipulation), or make sure that only one process has access until it is finished with it (again this access could be via an API which does the register manipulations for you, or it might be just a locking mechanism to prevent anyone else directly altering the registers whilst you are) .
Last edited by Paeryn on Sat Jun 20, 2015 2:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
She who travels light — forgot something.
Please note that my name doesn't start with the @ character so can people please stop writing it as if it does!

mntmst

Sat Jun 20, 2015 4:06 am