mtormo

Raspberry Pi for teaching physics

Wed May 03, 2017 11:37 am

Hello everybody,

I'm totally new in the forum and even though i have been already playing with raspberry pis for a couple of years i am still quite of a newbie. My background is not informatics but physics and maths. I have learnt long time ago Basic, Fortran and C, but i haven't used it for years and now i find myself totally excited learning python for exploring all what my raspis can do :)

I am now involved in an idea for building a compact autonomous modular measuring system with a raspberry pi, a touch screen and some sensors. The background of the idea is: there are (at least in Germany they are quite famous) some measuring devices for being used in the classroom for teaching physics, for example the Cassy family from the firma Leybold. They work with modules that you can plug on a standard connector and they retrieve the information measured/collected by the sensors. Sometimes it is even possible to analize or graph the data directly on the device. They are unfortunately extremely expensive, so the question is: is it possible to build something like that with a raspberry pi? I am sure it is, so i have decided to write my master thesis about it. The thesis is not as much about building it but about choosing (once built) one or two experiments, making a didactical analysis of them and showing how can improve the measuring device the understanding of the experiment.

I'm also learning tkinter so i can program a GUI for the different sensors/modules so it remains compact and easy to use. The code, blueprints for the case, building instructions and documentation would be open source and available to everybody so it can be built by anyone interested and the didactical units can be used in the classroom. I have not yet thought about it but i guess i will make a repository in github or something like that.

The structure of the device would be more or less this:
Picture 1_small.jpg