rickbike

pinet and homework

Wed Jul 22, 2015 12:24 am

Can the students take an R-Pi (set up on Pinet) home, finish a homework assignment, and then connect to the Pinet later (in the classroom) to submit their work? Are the R-Pis otherwise fully functional when not connected to the Pinet?

Edit: Some background: I am a System Admin for our school, and am interested in setting up R-Pis in our classrooms. The documentation for Pinet is lacking regarding the details of the server/"fat client" relationship. I'm not clear what gets synced. Also, I assume the system admin can use normal unix tools (user and group permissions) to provide access to the file system. Or does Pinet provide more user-friendly tools for teachers to control access? For example, a classroom dropbox. And if so, are multiple classroom dropboxes supported. I assume it will be clear once I set up a system to play with...

Thank You!

- Rick

DougieLawson

Re: pinet and homework

Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:33 am

You may get an answer quicker by joining the PiNet mailing list from the online form at http://pinet.org.uk
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.

Gbaman

Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:48 am

If a student takes home a PiNet card, they will not be able to do anything with it. PiNet does not write anything to the card (other than the boot files when there is an update). It just has the 40mb of boot files on there. Once they are loaded into ram, it unmounts the SD card and it isn't mounted again till a reboot.

The system was solely designed to be used in a classroom setup. Caching stuff on the card would involve a lot of writing to it frequently and storing every user account which isn't feasible?
So in answer to your question, nothing is synced to the SD card.