Ploopyandproud

Keeping the Raspberry Pi safe? How can I do it?

Sat Feb 23, 2013 4:05 am

Ok, I am really new to the Pi. I really want it, and I have been watching loads of tutorials about how to get it running, etc. But besides using the computer, how can I keep it safe? Does anyone know any common problems that happen to the Pi? Does it ever heat up? Are there problems with it being ruined by too much power? I kind of am OCD about keeping my stuff safe, and if I bought the Pi I would definitely take safety measures to ensure it is safe : :shock: . If you have any tips about keeping the Raspberry Pi safe, please reply with the tip.

Thanks, Ploopy
I eat raspberry pi

StevenP

Re: Keeping the Raspberry Pi safe? How can I do it?

Sat Feb 23, 2013 6:52 am

The pi does seem to be quite rugged for an electronic device not in a case, both electrically and mechanically. However I recommend getting a suitable case for it. This will protect against electrostatic discharge to the pi's components if you touch it with your fingers. It will also protect against electrical shorts if you touch it with anything metallic, eg keys, wires.
With a case the pi will be as good as any other electronic product, and I don't see any other risks.
That's my advice as an electronics engineer. Hope that helps. Enjoy your pi!
"The time has come," the Walrus said,
"To talk of many things..."

ghans

Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:29 pm

A very stable power-supply is the most important thing.
Don't use rpi-update if you don't know what you're doing.
Don't overclock over 900 MHz.
Don't unplug the power at the Pi side , but on the other side of
the cable.
If you are working with the GPIO , be careful and check what
you're doing.

(I'm not sure if all of that is relevant to new Pis .)

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.