GregMartin

Getting Pi3 set up for use out of the box

Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:53 pm

Just a question...hoping it may be seen by Those Who Know...
Would the panel consider that the current confusion regarding how to take the rpi from its box and get it connected to a LAN is really really really discouraging for any Any Any Student At All. For my sins I've 30 years experience in IT, have a certificate in Electronic Servicing and yet...and yet. It wont run or connect straight out of the box. Simpletons like me had the ideya that the rpi was great for controlling other devices, was a great place to try ones hand at programming and also that it would be easy to run headless.Trying to understand eth0 and get it working is unbelievably complex, undocumented issues with running wlan0 and eth0 at the same time. If I was presented with this in a school lab I'd probably choose to get involved in modern languages instead of electronics or Kodinggg. The situation reminds me of what happened with windows (and Office) as it went downhill from XP. It seemed like the team who built XP had been forcibly retired and replaced by work experience students who all spoke different languages and all had unassailable different ideas about UsaBilitee. The end result can hardly be korled a reesult. This is one baby that dont work out of the box and I wonder who the enjineres had in mynd wen thiy disined this pees of suftwore. It is just so teediuss. Any clues on how to achieve the following will be gratefully tired out. Both wlan0 and eth0 to wake and become available when the rpi boots.
Best wishes

rpdom

Re: Getting Pi3 set up for use out of the box

Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:29 am

Requiring both WiFi and wired network to be available at the same time is an advanced topic that 99% of Pi users will not require.

Mostly the Pi does just work "out of the box" once the SD card is created correctly.

fruitoftheloom

Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:04 am