TwinyTwice
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:08 am
Location: France

Re: Console Boot with 2.8" LCD TFT USB Robopeak? Possible ?

Thu Sep 25, 2014 5:05 am

Hey @DougieDawson, no idea ?

This error must come this code "fbcon=map:1 fbcon=font:ProFont6x11" ? right ?

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36332
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Console Boot with 2.8" LCD TFT USB Robopeak? Possible ?

Thu Sep 25, 2014 8:22 am

Sorry I've no idea.

You'll do better by asking an expert like Notro (who wrote the code).
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

PeterFrosta
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:40 pm
Location: Germany -NRW

Re: Console Boot with 2.8" LCD TFT USB Robopeak? Possible ?

Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:29 pm

Hi all (especially TwinyTwice),

i hope i get you back to this thread.

I also bought this display.

But i cant get started with it!

I would say, i am also noobi in this Rasoberry thing but i am using it since 1.5 years.

I tryed to compile the driver like in the manual, that failed in early steps. the commad "Make" canceled.
I tried the provided image from Robopeak, but it doesn't boot. the hdmi screen and the USB Display will been without a signal.

have you done special things with the downloaded image?
i used the eurpean link first du download the image.

As you description you was using the Chinese link from BaidoCloud.
I just downloading fr om this link too. While i am hoping for an answer, i will test this image.


good to read from DougieLawson
that it's easy to update an out-of-date image to work with a B+.

that would be one question on the next challenge after this display is working ;)

best regards,
Peter

User avatar
peepo
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:36 am

Re: Console Boot with 2.8" LCD TFT USB Robopeak? Possible ?

Sun Apr 05, 2015 6:42 pm

will updating rpi-update overwrite the 'special' kernel needed for the display?
if so is there a workaround?

text does not wrap, but is lost off-screen,
again, is there a workaround?

thanks

Jonathan

**using the Robopeak display:
I also made the changes to /etc/rpusbdisp/rpusbdispd.sh, and I also got a blank screen,
I also needed to edit cmdline.txt following:
http://www.robopeak.com/docs/doku.php?i ... sp_faq#q11
now it works, though text does not wrap, but is lost off-screen

User avatar
AndyD
Posts: 2331
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Console Boot with 2.8" LCD TFT USB Robopeak? Possible ?

Sun Apr 05, 2015 11:04 pm

peepo wrote:will updating rpi-update overwrite the 'special' kernel needed for the display?
if so is there a workaround?
Notro's drivers are now part of the official kernel. So, running rpi-update will not overwrite the 'special' kernel, it will provide you with the most up-to-date version. IIRC notro is no longer building kernels. Notro's drivers will soon become a part of the Linux kernel and are currently in the staging tree.

User avatar
peepo
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:36 am

Re: Console Boot with 2.8" LCD TFT USB Robopeak? Possible ?

Mon Apr 06, 2015 11:38 am

the usb display works fine with 'special kernel' in console mode,

however once I have run rpi-update it no longer does display as expected.
possibly trying to open X11? anyway blank screen without console.

this has led me to reinstall OS, which is painful!

my experience is that having done this twice now, further instructions would be helpful...

User avatar
AndyD
Posts: 2331
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Console Boot with 2.8" LCD TFT USB Robopeak? Possible ?

Mon Apr 06, 2015 11:48 am

:oops: Apologies Jonathan, I had my wires crossed there. Sorry, I think yes you still need a specific kernel for the Robobeak USB display. Sorry for pointing you in the wrong directio.

Return to “HATs and other add-ons”