erichabg
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 9:29 am

Which resources does the TV HAT use?

Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:12 am

Hello,
Which resources (GPIO's) does the new TV use?
Or to put it another way, which GPIOs are still available for other applications?

Regards
Erich

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 17965
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: Which resources does the TV HAT use?

Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:15 am

As I understand it, it uses the SPI port and the HAT ID I2C connection and that's all.

scotty101
Posts: 4150
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:03 pm

Re: Which resources does the TV HAT use?

Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:32 am

Would be good if someone who knew what pins were used would raise a pull request on https://pinout.xyz/
Electronic and Computer Engineer
Pi Interests: Home Automation, IOT, Python and Tkinter

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 10257
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: Which resources does the TV HAT use?

Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:22 am

https://github.com/raspberrypi/linux/bl ... verlay.dts

Code: Select all

	fragment@0 {
		target = <&spi0>;
		__overlay__ {
			/* needed to avoid dtc warning */
			#address-cells = <1>;
			#size-cells = <0>;

			status = "okay";

			spidev@0 {
				status = "disabled";
			};

			cxd2880@0 {
				compatible = "sony,cxd2880";
				reg = <0>; /* CE0 */
				spi-max-frequency = <50000000>;
				status = "okay";
			};
		};
};
So SPI0 with CE0.
Being a HAT it will have an ID EEPROM to trigger the loading of this overlay.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

art51go
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 10:30 am

Re: Which resources does the TV HAT use?

Sat Apr 04, 2020 10:52 am

I wanted to combine my pi tv hat with a Hifiberry AMP2, all stacked together with an adafruit extra tall header (ada1979) on a raspberry pi 4. The sound works but the /dev/dvb/ device is not there (worked without the sound board)

The Hifiberry AMP2 uses (https://www.hifiberry.com/docs/hardware ... ry-boards/):

GPIO 2-3: I2C
GPIO 4: Mute
GPIO 18-21: PWM0 and second SPI

I do not understand, why this does not work together, if the TV Hat only uses the first SPI. Would be nice to find information about these boards on https://pinout.xyz/boards#

trejan
Posts: 3062
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:28 pm

Re: Which resources does the TV HAT use?

Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:44 pm

art51go wrote:
Sat Apr 04, 2020 10:52 am
I do not understand, why this does not work together, if the TV Hat only uses the first SPI.
The two HAT ID EEPROMs used for autoconfiguration will conflict as you're not meant to stack HATs. Try loading the rpi-tv overlay manually?

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 40489
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Which resources does the TV HAT use?

Sat Apr 04, 2020 1:48 pm

It uses I2C0 (GPIO0 SDA/GPIO1 SCL) and SPI0.0 (GPIO10 MOSI/GPIO9 MISO/GPIO11 CLK/GPIO8 CE).
Any language using left-hand whitespace for syntax is ridiculous

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
Fake doctors - are all on my foes list.

Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Return to “HATs and other add-ons”