milkybar_ton
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 8:25 pm

Model A ethernet?

Fri Sep 23, 2016 7:21 pm

Hi,
I was wandering if it would be possible to add ethernet to the original Model A pi?
Had a look around the web and i can't find anything.
Someone has reverse engineered a model B by removing stuff but nothing the other way around
cheers
Milky

User avatar
Laurens-wuyts
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact: Website

Re: Model A ethernet?

Fri Sep 23, 2016 7:29 pm

You can use a USB to ethernet adapter.
As the Ethernet/USB hub IC isn't populated on the RPi A, you can't just solder on the Ethernet port.

If you rely wanted, you could solder the Ethernet IC on, but I don't think it's worth the effort/price. :)

Laurens

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35784
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Model A ethernet?

Sat Sep 24, 2016 11:57 am

Three options:
1. USB ethernet
2. USB WiFi
3. SPI ENC28J60 ethernet

All three are well documented on here.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 14979
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: Model A ethernet?

Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:43 pm

DougieLawson wrote:Three options:
1. USB ethernet
2. USB WiFi
3. SPI ENC28J60 ethernet
4. USB Gadget mode networking
(will only work on the PI A, CM and Zero models)

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35784
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Model A ethernet?

Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:58 pm

I'm not sure that works on an A+ due to the wiring of the full size USB-A socket.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 14979
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: Model A ethernet?

Sat Sep 24, 2016 9:13 pm

DougieLawson wrote:I'm not sure that works on an A+ due to the wiring of the full size USB-A socket.
Why not? Ok, so the OTG ID signal is set to "Host" mode only, but loading the gadget mode driver will override that. That data lines are direct with no hub chip in the way.

You would need a custom USB cable to make it work though.

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3439
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: Model A ethernet?

Sat Sep 24, 2016 10:25 pm

milkybar_ton wrote:Hi,
I was wandering if it would be possible to add ethernet to the original Model A pi?
Sure, the schematics label the A-specific and B-specific parts. So you should be able to remove the A-specific parts (a couple of zero ohm resistors IIRC) and fit the B-Specific parts (USB hub with ethernet chip, ethernet magjack and various support components).

Probablly easier to just buy a model B though.

milkybar_ton
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 8:25 pm

Re: Model A ethernet?

Thu Sep 29, 2016 3:21 pm

It was soldering on an ethernet socket i was thinking about but i now realize it's a bit more complicated than that.
Thanks for the replies
milky

Return to “HATs and other add-ons”