darryletter

multiple I2C devices

Thu Jan 01, 2015 9:03 pm

I am new to the raspberry pi and i have a "B +".

So my question is it possible to hook up more then one device at a time. Can the I2C bus communicate to more then one device. what i was hoping to do was to breakout the I2C lines and hook more then one device and the same time
Life After 60 sucks

FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: multiple I2C devices

Thu Jan 01, 2015 11:39 pm

darryletter wrote:I am new to the raspberry pi and i have a "B +".
So my question is it possible to hook up more then one device at a time. Can the I2C bus communicate to more then one device. what i was hoping to do was to breakout the I2C lines and hook more then one device and the same time
Quick answer is "Yes" - so long as each device has been setup to use a unique I2C address**.
Trev.
** FWIW, a fairly simple example for two different I2C "LCD display backpacks" can be seen here:
http://www.cpmspectrepi.webspace.virgin ... _Interface
and an example using two different I2C port-expander chips is here (revised circuit):
http://www.cpmspectrepi.webspace.virgin ... oFull.html
Still running Raspbian Jessie or Stretch on some older Pi's (an A, B1, 2xB2, B+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W, 2xP3A+, P3B+, P3B, B+, and a A+) but Buster on the P4B's. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

sav25
Authorised Reseller
Authorised Reseller

Thu Jan 01, 2015 11:43 pm

Yeah something like the popular MCP23017 for example, has 3 address pins that need to be connected to 3.3v or GND:

I've been making some notes for my notebook and drew this the other day actually (well, on the PC):

So here, pins 15,16 and 17 can be wired different ways to give different addresses, allowing you to address different chips and I/O in your code.