saphy721

I2C Photodiodes

Thu Jun 12, 2014 2:43 pm

I'm trying to read photodiodes off of an ADC that uses I2C with python. My co-worker wrote the code for it and there's a problem that I have to fix, but I'm pretty new to programming and I'm not sure where to start debugging. Any advice would be helpful. This is the code:

Code: Select all

import threading
import logging 
import Queue
import smbus

class Bus():

def_init__(self, t):
      self.bus = smbus.SMBus(1)
      if t is 't': self.addr = 0b0110100
      if t is 'p': self.addr = 0b001011
      self.main = 0b10100000
      self.backup = 0b10100001
      self.current = 1
      self.cmd = self.main
      self.lock = threading.Lock()
      logging.info("Bus established")

def switch (self): #to switch between primary and backup diodes
      if self.current ==0:
         self.current = 1
         cmd = self.backup
      elif self.current == 1:
         self.current = 0
         cmd = self.main
      with self.lock:
         self.bus.write_byte(self.addr, cmd)

def read(self): #to read the difference between the two photodiodes
      with self.lock
         d0 = self.bus.read_byte(self.addr)
         d1 = self.bus.read_byte(self.addr)
         d2 = self.bus.read_byte(self.addr)
      d = d0<<16 + d1<<8 +d2
      d = (pos >>6)
      d &= 0xFFFF
      return d
and this is how I call it:

myBus = Bus("t")
theta_reading = myBus.read()
print theta_reading
This is the ADC I'm using: http://www.linear.com/product/LTC2489

I put in some print statements to try to debug it and it looks like it stops after it reads d0.

Help?
Last edited by saphy721 on Thu Jun 12, 2014 4:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

techpaul

Re: I2C Photodiodes

Thu Jun 12, 2014 4:00 pm

It would help if you let everyone know what ADC chip you are using (there are 100's of them)

Also repost and put your code in CODE blocks to look like this

example code block
      another indented line
then all the indents come through so we can understand your code