scrishton

Multiple USB > Serial adaptors

Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:07 pm

I'm working on a little project to control video recorders from a Raspberry Pi using 'Sony 9-pin protocol' which is RS422. The hardware is a Lego clad Pi powered by an iPhone charger with a Logitech K260 wireless keyboard and mouse, USB hub and various USB to RS422 or RS232 and converter combinations - all Prolific PL2303 based. The software is my first attempt at Python, running under the standard Debian Squeeze with Pyserial to handle the serial comms. I haven't done much serious programming for a while, but I used to make a living designing PIC hardware and software so I'm not a complete novice. The Pi is doing a great job controlling a single VT machine, but when I try to open more than one serial port...

Code: Select all

for vtr in range(0,12):
    if os.path.exists('/dev/ttyUSB'+str(vtr)):
        ser.append(serial.Serial('/dev/ttyUSB'+str(vtr), 38400, timeout=0.01, parity=serial.PARITY_ODD, stopbits=1))
        parked.append(vtr+1)
...I get an error...

File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/serial/serialposix.py", line 278, in open
raise SerialException("could not open port %s: %s" % (self._port, msg))
serial.serialutil.SerialException: could not open port /dev/ttyUSB1: [Errno 71] Protocol error: '/dev/ttyUSB1'
The same code works very nicely on a netbook running Ubuntu, but this is meant to be a Raspberry Pi project! I did wonder if it was a problem with my USB hub, but I have now tried three different hubs including a new D-Link 7 port - which can power the Pi quite nicely - and I don't think that's the problem. The first port opens fine but any further ports give the error. I read somewhere that it could be a timeout problem in the driver, but can't seem to find that page now.
Any ideas would be most welcome...

rew

Re: Multiple USB > Serial adaptors

Sat Jun 09, 2012 7:50 pm

This requires some debugging.