tonci

Multiple serial input

Sat Nov 30, 2013 9:38 pm

Hi there, I'm fairly new to hardware, but good as a programer.

I'm trying to make a "rfid multiple door controller".
Currently I've achieved to read an rfid chip trough UART (serial input) on the raspberry.
Also I'm able to lock/unlock doors.

The problem is how to add 2 and more rfid readers?
Since the rfid reader is communicating with the PI trough a Serial port, I need to have a multiple serial ports.
I've searched hours of how to do this, and couldn't find a simple solution.
In this topic for example there are 3 solutions barely described.
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... ut#p451200

Can anyone describe me some of these in details (how to connect, are there any libraries to use), or propose different solution???
I'm aiming to do the task at the lowest cost possible, but if there is way simpler solution for a reasonable price it is ok.

Hope someone can help :)

FLYFISH TECHNOLOGIES

Re: Multiple serial input

Fri Dec 06, 2013 3:28 am

Hi Tonci,
tonci wrote:Can anyone describe me some of these in details (how to connect, are there any libraries to use), or propose different solution???
You need to add additional serial ports... obviously. These are some options:
a) USB <> RS-232 (or eg. USB <> RS-422) dongles (easy to add, but.. hmm.. ugly ;-) ),
b) add chips which have on one side serial port, and on the other side any interface available on RasPi GPIO (eg. SPI),
c) add microcontroller-based solution which "merges" serveral serial ports into one stream (which can be connected to single RasPi serial port, or SPI bus, or USB, or I2C.. or even to digital parallel pins...

For a) item you need to pick OS-supported dongles (hard to find unsupported one, I guess ;-) ) and then you communicate with each your RFID reader equaly... via ordinary serial ports.