bharadwajtk

GPIO output current

Mon May 27, 2013 4:34 am

Hi friends,
I am new to Pi interfacing.Please help me understand this scenario (thought experiment)

I set the GPIO-17 drive strength to 16mA and the pin as an output port [My understanding is, the output voltage available at the GPIO-17 pin will be 3V3 and, it will vary depending on what drive strength I set]

What will happen if :

1.I short circuit it by connect this pin to Ground(Pin 9 on P1 connector)
2.I connect a resistor of 150 Ohm between GPIO-17 and Ground (the current which should flow in the circuit is 22mA = 3.3/150)
3.I connect a resistor of 50 ohm between GPIO-17 and Ground(the current should be 66mA)I have read at many places that the maximum current which can be drawn from all the GPIOs is 51mA .Will the processor burn in this case ?

Please also comment about what's the best way to move if I am trying to interface different components (Going forward I will interface motors,sensors etc.. through GPIO).Please fwd a neat and clean link if you have .

Thank you !

Regards,
Tk

[email protected]

Re: GPIO output current

Mon May 27, 2013 11:20 am

bharadwajtk wrote:Hi friends,
I am new to Pi interfacing.Please help me understand this scenario (thought experiment)

I set the GPIO-17 drive strength to 16mA and the pin as an output port [My understanding is, the output voltage available at the GPIO-17 pin will be 3V3 and, it will vary depending on what drive strength I set]

What will happen if :

1.I short circuit it by connect this pin to Ground(Pin 9 on P1 connector)
You blow up the Pi.
2.I connect a resistor of 150 Ohm between GPIO-17 and Ground (the current which should flow in the circuit is 22mA = 3.3/150)
You blow up the Pi.
3.I connect a resistor of 50 ohm between GPIO-17 and Ground(the current should be 66mA)I have read at many places that the maximum current which can be drawn from all the GPIOs is 51mA .Will the processor burn in this case ?
You blow up the Pi.