TeaAddict

DSI connector

Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:56 pm

Hello! I have a question about connecting a screen to the Raspberry Pi's DSI.

I have a 7 inch (17.78 cm) TFT screen that I extracted from a digital photo viewer. It is 480*234 resolution, 16:9 screen size mode, and it uses a DSI ribbon cable. Is it possible to use this as a display for the Pi, and if so, what's involved?

Please note: I have not received my Raspberry Pi yet, and I'm still a bit new to electronics.
n00b at electronics, n00b at programming...

But EXPERT at asking questions

ghans

Re: DSI connector

Wed Oct 17, 2012 2:07 pm

Absolutely impossible.
Search to see what I mean.

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Wed Oct 17, 2012 2:12 pm

Well, not strictly impossible, just impossible without having current unavailable access to certain part of the GPU code.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed.
I've been saying "Mucho" to my Spanish friend a lot more lately. It means a lot to him.

TeaAddict

Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:17 pm

jamesh said: "Well, not strictly impossible, just impossible without having current unavailable access to certain part of the GPU code."
Will there ever be any access to the GPU?

Grumpy Mike

Thu Oct 18, 2012 11:07 am

TeaAddict wrote:Will there ever be any access to the GPU?
There is access to it at the moment through the blob interface.
Other than that no.

TeaAddict

Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:47 pm

I'm new to Binary blobs. If their is a blob for the GPU, how hard is it to access, and will it help me interface with my LCD?

RaTTuS

Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:56 pm

you will not have much success attempting to access the DSI currently