DogEars

Washing after soldering, is water OK?

Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:02 pm

I'm using water soluble flux so after soldering I should wash the board with water, it feels very odd to do such a thing is it okay to do so?
Cheers,
Ears.

fos

Re: Washing after soldering, is water OK?

Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:17 pm

Ears,

I would suggest using a thin rosin core flux solder. You will get much better long term results. Water soluble flux is designed for industrial use and the cleaning methods they have available. For hobby use, water soluble flux will give imperfect solder joints over the long term with no positive reason for using water soluble flux in the first place.

Jeff
https://faroutscience.com

DogEars

Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:26 pm

I'm new to soldering and I'm a bit daunted by the whole surface-mount thing, googling around I've seen a few mentions of using 2331-zx flux to make life easier, but they all mention washing it after with warm water.
But you think it's a bad idea?
Cheers, Ears.

repton

Sat Oct 13, 2012 8:42 pm

I've always just used normal flux cored lead based solder and find it works fine without any extra flux even on surface mount stuff.

Paul
UK Supplier of 1-Wire components, kits and modules:
http://www.sheepwalkelectronics.co.uk/

mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Sat Oct 13, 2012 8:44 pm

As long as its distilled water, and you give it long enough to dry before powering the board I don't think it should be a problem, but it depends a bit on the kinds of components that are on the boards.
For example emersing any batteries in water isn't a good idea, also non encapsulated transformers and such.

Also, it might be that the industrial cleaning methods use some kind of ultrasonic vibration method to clean, and the water is just a medium, so without the ultrasonic vibration it doesn't actually do anything.

DogEars

Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:27 pm

mahjongg wrote:it depends a bit on the kinds of components that are on the boards.