unixcommando

HDMI To VGA and Avocent DSR8035

Sun Dec 04, 2016 7:21 pm

Greetings,

I'm a new convert to the world of Raspberry Pi and a huge fan. I have a couple Pi 3Bs and a couple of Pi Zeros I'm playing with.

I'm a Unix Sys Admin by trade so I'm pretty comfortable with Rasbian as it's very similar to Ubuntu machines I use at work.

Like at work, I want console to my Pi's, I don't want to have to plug in a keyboard and monitor everytime I need console to a Pi. I have an Avocent DSR8035 IPKVM. The DSR8035 is older hardware that doesn't support HDMI dongles, so I'm trying to use an HDMI to VGA converter. I've tested the HMDI to VGA converter by plugging it into my new Acer flat screen monitor and it works just fine. I've plugged the VGA dongle into a vintage VGA device and that works fine. However, when I plug the HMDI to VGA converter into the VGA dongle I'm having problems. The video display blinks on and then off and the screen flashes "No Signal", then it blinks on, I can see the console, then off again with "No Signal". It'll just keep doing this.

I read the FAQ on the Pi site about HDMI to VGA and have tried setting config.txt to the various recommended settings but to no avail. Here are the specs of what I'm using:

config.txt
hdmi_force_unplug=1
config_hdmi_boost=4
disable_overscan=1
#hdmi_safe=1
#hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080
#hdmi_drive=2
#hdmi_group=1
#hdmi_mode=16

Raspberry Pi 3B

Raspbian GNU/Linux 8 (jessie)

UGreen HDMI to VGA Converter part number: 40248 https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NB ... UTF8&psc=1

Avocent DSR8035 IPKVM

Avocent DSAVIQ-USB2 Dongle

# tvservice -n
device_name=AVO-Smart_Cable
# tvservice -m DMT
Group DMT has 15 modes:
mode 4: 640x480 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:25MHz progressive
mode 5: 640x480 @ 72Hz 4:3, clock:31MHz progressive
mode 6: 640x480 @ 75Hz 4:3, clock:31MHz progressive
mode 8: 800x600 @ 56Hz 4:3, clock:36MHz progressive
mode 9: 800x600 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:40MHz progressive