messinwu

Additional TTL on I2C or SPI?

Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:41 pm

Hey everyone, I'm a newbie with electronics, kind of. I've already got a MAX3232 set up on the "Mini-UART" pins to provide me /dev/ttyAMA0 serial port, which I'm going to use to communicate with a radio modem, and it's working well. However, I'd like to avoid using the USB ports as much as possible so I'd like to access another serial port for a GPS module which talks TTL (it also can talk RS232). I've ready somewhere that the RasPi does have another "more complex" serial port as well as the simple one I've already connected to. How do I access it?

I guess there are SPI/I2C pins on the GPIO header pins, but I don't really understand how to interface with them. I'm running Arch Linux. I can connect the GPS module via female jumper wires easily, it requires 5 volts, and I know which pin that is, but what else do I need to do?

Is someone generous enough to spoon feed me on this? Do I need to purchase an additional interface module? Something dirt cheap is preferable. The GPS module is the GT-320FW, this is for a high altitude balloon project. I have several USB-Serial adapters, but again, I'd like to avoid USB as much as possible, as I'm already planning to have a USB Webcam connected.

TonyD

Re: Additional TTL on I2C or SPI?

Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:29 am

If your GPS module is a 5V unit then you'll need some 5V to 3.3V conversion as the Raspberry Pi GPIO is 3.3V only.

There's a couple of forum posts you can search for that discuss doing 5V to 3.3V conversion for the RPi GPIO.
Tony

messinwu

Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:45 am

Thank you, but I've already dealt with that on the Mini-UART pins 14 and 15 and have /dev/ttyAMA0 working properly already with an adapter module as mentioned in my initial post. I'm trying to make an additional serial interface work using alternate pins.

The GPS unit does use 5v, but why couldn't I just plug in to the 5v header to supply the correct voltage?