perfo

interface with digital calipers

Sat Sep 12, 2015 10:25 pm

Hello,
I've done a fair bit of reading and researching on this but haven't really come up with a definitive answer.
I have a small lathe and would like to put DRO's on it but they are expensive. On the old google and in the walls of this forum I have read about folks connecting and reading data from cheap digital callipers. The 150mm ones can be had for as little as £3.50 so this is a very inviting idea.
However most folk seem to read them with an Arduino and thus this is do able but I haven't read about anyone using a Raspberry Pi direct.
Does anyone know if this is possible (I'm guessing it is) and if it is any info / links etc.
I would want three axis and ideally no Arduino. Not that I dislike Arduinos but it adds another level of complexity and I'm not as familiar with em as the RPI (and I'm no expert in the RPI) .

A second question would be can these digital calliper be joined somehow. A 150mm is £3 ish but a 300mm or 400mm rises steeply in costs. Would it be possible to cut the scale part off one calliper and refit it to the tail of another and thus get a 300mm for £6?
Any hints or comments ? Thanks for reading....

ame

Re: interface with digital calipers

Sun Sep 13, 2015 12:02 am

If you can find a good tutorial about doing it with Arduino you should be able to make it work on a Pi.

You have to remember that the Pi GPIOs can only accept 3.3V, and you might have to rewrite the software, but it should be quite easy.

Extending the length of the sensor would be hard, the sensor must be physically the length that you want. Splicing two sensors might be possible, but they might glitch at the joint.

Douglas6

Sun Sep 13, 2015 1:00 am

If it were easy to splice two inexpensive devices to work the same as one expensive one, the manufacturer would have probably noticed.

perfo

Sun Sep 13, 2015 1:06 am

Thanks for the reply. You've hit two problems on the head though...