Theodiy
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 9:37 am

ISP output 1 ? (vc.ril.isp:out:1)

Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:16 am

Hi,

Simple question, does someone know something about the output 1 of the ISP (vc.ril.isp:out:1)?
When I use ISP to convert images to ouput 0, I can display this information about it:
create ISP component input_num:1, output_num:2
How to use it and is it possible to convert images by this output simultaneous to the output 0?
Thanx

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5944
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: ISP output 1 ? (vc.ril.isp:out:1)

Fri Nov 09, 2018 11:12 am

It is in the docs - https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware ... s/isp.html
(I'll make another request to get that lot hosted on raspberrypi.org. http://www.jvcref.com/files/PI/document ... omponents/ is a hosted version but quite out of date).
This component wraps the ISP (Image Sensor Processor) hardware block to offer hardware accelerated format conversion and resizing. It has one input port taking Bayer, YUV or RGB images in numerous different formats. It has two output ports: Port 361 supports various RGB and YUV formats. Port 362 is off the low res resizer which can only downscale. Due to this port 362 must be at a lower resolution to port 361. If set to a higher resolution then the port will effectively be disabled and no ouput produced. It also doesn't have the colour conversion block, and so only supports YUV formats.

Port 361 is treated as the main output - the pipeline will stall until an output buffer is available on that port. That includes if port 361 is disabled then no processing will occur. If no output buffer is available on port 362 when both an input buffer and port 361 output buffer are available, the frame will be processed with the low resolution output disabled.

Please note that this component has been developed for use under MMAL. It has not been tested at all under IL, so there may be unexpected behaviour under IL. It is also not considered to be production quality code yet - please use with caution.
In pictographic format, the back end of the ISP looks like:

Code: Select all

--> resize -+-> colour conversion -> output formatter
            +-> resize -> output formatter 
Top path goes to output 0, bottom path to output 1.
So yes you can get two different resizes out of the component simultaneously, just watch your buffer management if you wish to avoid frame drops on output 1.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
Please don't send PMs asking for support - use the forum.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

jvcleave
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 10:27 pm

Re: ISP output 1 ? (vc.ril.isp:out:1)

Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:50 am

6by9 wrote:
Fri Nov 09, 2018 11:12 am
It is in the docs - https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware ... s/isp.html
(I'll make another request to get that lot hosted on raspberrypi.org. http://www.jvcref.com/files/PI/document ... omponents/ is a hosted version but quite out of date).
updates!

I just updated jvcref.com with the latest :)

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5944
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: ISP output 1 ? (vc.ril.isp:out:1)

Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:58 am

jvcleave wrote:
Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:50 am
6by9 wrote:
Fri Nov 09, 2018 11:12 am
It is in the docs - https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware ... s/isp.html
(I'll make another request to get that lot hosted on raspberrypi.org. http://www.jvcref.com/files/PI/document ... omponents/ is a hosted version but quite out of date).
updates!

I just updated jvcref.com with the latest :)
Thank you. I do feel a little embarrassed that we're relying on a third party to host them.

It looks like I need to tweak the generating script as the new components (isp and hvs) don't show up on the index page, but they are in the list on the left when you go to any other component. I'll see if I can get that done before the next rpi-update.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
Please don't send PMs asking for support - use the forum.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

Return to “Camera board”