EaglesEyes
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:49 pm

raspivid - Bad video

Mon Apr 25, 2016 2:41 pm

Hello,
I recently buy RPi camera module, I plug it on a RPi1 and install the last Raspbian.

I use raspvid to do video capture with the following command:

Code: Select all

raspivid -md 0
A window open with bad video, it seem like snow

But when I use this command:

Code: Select all

raspivid -md 6
It's works fine. I tried all mode value and only le 6 works.

Anyone has an idea to do HD video capture please ?
Thanks

Ygles ;-(

User avatar
CaptSunset
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:55 pm

Re: raspivid - Bad video

Mon Apr 25, 2016 4:55 pm

Ygles, if you really need HD, you might want to return that camera board, and exchange it for the newest model. It uses the Sony IMX219 8 Megapixel sensor, photos & specs here:

https://www.pi-supply.com/product/raspb ... -8mp-1080p

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 8073
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: raspivid - Bad video

Mon Apr 25, 2016 5:13 pm

Make sure the connectors are all fully home. Why mode 6 works and the others don't is a bit strange.
Do you get the low voltage coloured square up in the top right corner on your display? If so then get a better power supply.
Posting an example would be useful.

The old sensor is perfectly capable of producing HD video - returning it just because a new one comes out is taking the mickey. If it's actually faulty, then OK, but do some checking first.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

EaglesEyes
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:49 pm

Re: raspivid - Bad video

Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:14 pm

Thanks all.
I don't really need HD video but the device specification explains that it can work in 1080px so I want to use it in its full capabilities.
I will share a video capture in HD mode tomorrow and an other one in mode 6 (640x480).
I supplied the RPi with a 5V 1A on the microUSB.
The connector seems to be fully at home but I will check it tomorrow (I forgot the RPi at the office....) an try with my second RPi1.

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 8073
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: raspivid - Bad video

Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:43 pm

EaglesEyes wrote:I supplied the RPi with a 5V 1A on the microUSB.
The recommendation is for a 2A power supply, mainly to avoid voltage drops due to regulators being pushed beyond max on surges. 1A is running it a little tight.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

EaglesEyes
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:49 pm

Re: raspivid - Bad video

Tue Apr 26, 2016 8:36 am

Hello,
You can see the bad video here => https://youtu.be/XlWPmCAmDG4
You can see the good video here => https://youtu.be/w9XxD5QC87M
In the description I put the raspivid logs.

The log are fully similare (except the file name and command line) and I don't understand why, because I follow this documentation
https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... /camera.md and mode 1 and mode 6 are differents (mode 1: 1920x1080 and mode 6: 640x480)


Ygles ;-(

EaglesEyes
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:49 pm

Re: raspivid - Bad video

Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:05 pm

I tried with 2A supply and the issue still present

User avatar
CaptSunset
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:55 pm

Re: raspivid - Bad video

Tue Apr 26, 2016 8:48 pm

Hi again-
Just wondering about the file size in your /tmp directory; and your 'errorvid' has no imagery at all, but is 'playing'...

Can you shorten recording time, and get any other modes working?

EaglesEyes
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:49 pm

Re: raspivid - Bad video

Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:54 am

I tried to record on an external hard disk and I had the same problem.
The mode 6 and 3 works but sometimes I had an error like "No image received from sensor" (since I tried on a RPi2), I will take a new "data cable" perhaps I damaged the first one.

Return to “Camera board”