DanL

extending max frame rate

Sat Oct 24, 2015 1:50 pm

Hello,

I've been fiddling with the raspivid.c code and mmal functions over the past few days, trying to understand how things connect in there.

I was wondering how to change the maximum frame rate limits. I dont mind doing my pi any damages.

Can anyone point to me in the right direction? I have been searching for a limit in raspivid.c but it doesnt seem to exist. The code that says:
"if certain frame rate limit is passed -> use lower resolution"

Is there anything I can change in there? I am not an expert, so far, I just opened up the raspivid.c and changed it to have an extra raw output... seems to sometimes work :)
Last edited by DanL on Sat Oct 24, 2015 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DougieLawson

Re: extending max frame rate

Sat Oct 24, 2015 2:22 pm

You've got the source code, you can change it any which way you please. I doubt there's anything you can do that will damage anything in the hardware. Your main problem is that you're working with a closed source black box GPU that isn't fully documented.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

DanL

Sat Oct 24, 2015 2:36 pm

I found these obvious lines:

Code: Select all

if(state->camera_parameters.shutter_speed > 6000000)
   {
        MMAL_PARAMETER_FPS_RANGE_T fps_range = {{MMAL_PARAMETER_FPS_RANGE, sizeof(fps_range)},
                                                     { 50, 1000 }, {166, 1000}};
        mmal_port_parameter_set(video_port, &fps_range.hdr);
   }
   else if(state->camera_parameters.shutter_speed > 1000000)
   {
        MMAL_PARAMETER_FPS_RANGE_T fps_range = {{MMAL_PARAMETER_FPS_RANGE, sizeof(fps_range)},
                                                     { 167, 1000 }, {999, 1000}};
        mmal_port_parameter_set(video_port, &fps_range.hdr);
   }