Maximusi

Car Computer using Kodi

Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:47 pm

Good Evening all,

I am fairly new to the Raspberry Pi scene poked my nose in a few times envious of getting one but finally just bought myself a pi2. I have a very ambitous project of making a very cool car computer possibly running Kodi Media Center. I have posted full details of my idea on their forum: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=217244

I was wondering what you guys over here thought of that and whether anyone would be interested in the project?

Look forward to hearing back from you all.

ghans

Re: Car Computer using Kodi

Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:37 am

An Android tablet would be cheaper and you wouldn't have
to sell your newborn to Satan just to get a **** touchscreen
to work.

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

mbt28

Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:45 pm

Hello,

It would cost you at least 200usd. You should compare ready to use options and their benefits as well. Also you should talk to car`s bus lines. Also FM radio seems challenging. Because it is not like playing mp3, it is an analog source you should output it to main line somehow.

chameau

Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:31 pm

I'm actually trying to build something similar, my research brought me to this post.

For me the operating system is second, first thing is to get a functional boot.

The "easy" stuff is:

1. LCD
2. Pi os
3. Power supply to the car. I've seen several people pull it off with surge protectors.
4. Audio output, there needs to be an AMP or DAB hooked onto the Pi either by usb or one of those click on things. But the cables are fairly standard and should be relatively easy to hook up.

There are some fundamental problems that I haven't been able to figure out.