John Public

GPS to work inside buildings

Thu Jan 16, 2014 3:41 pm

I need to get the whereabouts of forklift trucks during the day.
GPS is great for that when they are outside.

The problem I am having when the forklift goes inside a warehouse and the signal is lost.
What kind of "backup gps" should be looking for while the forklift is parked inside and I need to know where.

So ideas and pointers how I should solve this.

paulie

Re: GPS to work inside buildings

Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:59 pm

You might need a 'GPS repeater'.
From the OFCOM website:

http://stakeholders.ofcom.org.uk/enforc ... repeaters/

That covers the licencing in UK.
I have no knowledge of pricing or what kit is needed for this - I'd guess it receives the GPS signals on an external antenna & rebroadcasts inside somehow.
It has been my custom to use Xeyes

FLYFISH TECHNOLOGIES

Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:03 am

Hi,

Since you wrote question in this forum, your platform should be RasPi...

Next to "turn-key" solution with mentioned GPS repeater(s), you could use WiFi signals detected in the RasPi's surrounding to define geolocation. On Android platform this is one of two native positioning options. Some development is going on for Linux (wilocate, wifi-positioner, ...), so you could search/select them according to required features and your skills (eg. code build ability). This one takes more implementation effort, but usage is not limited to predefined locations covered with GPS repeaters.

Best wishes, Ivan Zilic.
Running out of GPIO pins and/or need to read analog values?
Solution: http://www.flyfish-tech.com/FF32

John Public

Fri Jan 17, 2014 3:31 pm

I did a quick look at GPS repeaters. It is not clear whether a repeter will just report its position and not the forklift withing the warehouse.

scruss

Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:25 pm