zarnick

Using Raspberry Pi to track athletes via RFID

Wed Nov 27, 2013 6:31 pm

Hello, I'm recently engaged on a project that needs to track athletes time on a race (running, skating and cycling).
What we thought of was using RFID for the tracking.
Has anyone some hints on this? What would I need? I'm not a hardware expert, but I do believe if I'm able to create and antennae that "stays" on the floor, I could use passive RFID tags for this. But as I said, I'm not a hardware expert and I'm completely lost on this.

Any help would be more than welcome.

Thank you very much.

FLYFISH TECHNOLOGIES

Re: Using Raspberry Pi to track athletes via RFID

Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:40 pm

Hello,
zarnick wrote:Hello, I'm recently engaged on a project that needs to track athletes time on a race (running, skating and cycling).
What we thought of was using RFID for the tracking.
If your primary goal is to track athletes, then hire somebody with equipment and skills... and you don't need to read lines below. ;-)

So, obviously, you're reading... and your goal is to develop the system. :-) I'm not sure that generic RFID technology is suitable. The main problem are detections of multiple RFID tags present at the same time.
Typical setup of check point area for athletes is 2 meters wide (to be sure that both feet touch the ground) and cover complete track width. Events with massive number of competitors measure both times (next to bruto time triggered at gun start also netto time after the particular athlete actually passes the start line). Therefore, you should support presence of quite some athletes on these detection sector at the same time... starts are crowded.